Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can I make a stereo headphone jack deliver a monaural signal?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can I make a stereo headphone jack deliver a monaural signal?

This question may be so simple even a caveman could answer it - but I'm stumped! I did my due diligence with a search; I couldn't find anything related to my question.
    I am a musician (I play electric bass) and I am trying to follow along with my instructor's lessons, in mp3 format. I have them loaded into my mp3 player, listening with a nice set of headphones. I realized that the lessons were mixed in the studio with the spoken vocal lesson in the left channel and the instructor's electric bass in the right channel. So essentially, the mp3's are mixed stereo even though all it is, is spoken word and electric bass.
    My problem is that I am deaf in my left ear (born that way) so I can't hear anything coming out of the left headphone cup.
    MY QUESTION: Is there a way I can rig some kind of adapter that will sum the left and right channels into a single monaural channel? That way I could hear all the material out of my good ear.
    Before you ask, I know I could just use a boom box, but I prefer to use headphones - it just works better for me that way.
    Thanks in advance,
    ...Doug

You should be able to find a stereo to mono adaptor plug at any Fry's, Radio Shack, Best Buy, Good Guys, etc.

Take your listening device with you when you shop. A stereo to mono plug may simply limit you to one side of the recording. You may need a stereo to mono plug AND a mono to stereo plug to get both audio channels on both sides.
    "Take two placebos, works twice as well." Enzo

"Now get off my lawn with your silicooties and boom-chucka speakers and computers masquerading as amplifiers" Justin Thomas

"If you're not interested in opinions and the experience of others, why even start a thread?
    You can't just expect consent." Helmholtz

Comment