Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Bogen PA head for guitar? Help with pentode preamp stages.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bogen PA head for guitar? Help with pentode preamp stages.

A friend of mine came into a bogen HE10 PA head. It has a push-pull 6V6 output stage which would be nice for guitar; I'm going to clean it up and recap it for him as he wants to play guitar through it. With a guitar plugged in to the mic channel it's 100% clean all of the way up the dial, which makes sense based on its original intended use. I want to tweak this thing to get some grind out of it. The input stage is a 6SJ7, which I have no experience with.

The first thing I noticed is that the plate voltage is super low (37V), and I figured raising that would be a good place to start. I looked up the datasheet for a 6SJ7 and it said these things can handle up to 200V. So I was thinking I could accomplish this in a few ways; I could lower the value of R5 or lower the value of R21, or perhaps both.

Can anyone tell me if I'm on the right track? Any other ideas how to coax a lot more gain out of this thing?

Thanks in advance, here's the schem:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	bogenhe10.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	243.1 KB
ID:	869942

You could make an Ampeg Jet, which uses that tube complement: Image from http://toneclassics.com/Ampeg%201959...0schematic.JPG.
    Or a number of other small amps of that vintage.

Comment

Could have some fun with that pentode. Raise plate voltage, rewire to triode mode with a largish Rscreen for some creamy squish!

If it were me I'd start with removing the feedback loop in the PA. That'll open'er up. Then toy with what I mentioned above with the 6v6s. Best to have the PA distort first b4 the preamp. The magic happens in the Pentodes.

Comment