Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Schematics Power Capacitors question

Hi All,

First of all, sorry for my English and my lack of professional language.
    I am an enthusiastic amateur and I am about to build an SLO Clone (more or less).

I have a question to far (or less) more, but definitely advanced Collegues.

I have a point in the schematic where the mid point (I hope I am understandable) from the output transformer
    goes. That point shares two electrylic condensers as well, (2x 220u 400V), one point of one of the fuses (T0,5A) and
    one side of the choke transformer also. My question is the following: Is it possible that I don't solder the mid point of the
    output transformer there as it is completely at the other end of the chassis, but put one more 220u 400 Volts elco
    in the chassis near to the mid output cable and connect to it separately? Basically the question is: is it a problem if the mid point
    of the output transformer is not connected directly to the other points mentioned above but fed separately?

Thanks VERY much for the answer!

Try it & see.

The worse than can happen is the amp 'may' hum.

Comment

Originally posted by Jazz P Bass View Post
      Try it & see.

The worse than can happen is the amp 'may' hum.
      Thanks! Really appreciate it! Will do.

Comment

It's OK just as long as you don't exceed the voltage rating of the cap(s) from the power supply. The schematic I saw had two 220uF in series to handle the ~485 volts to the plates.
        Turn it up so that everything is louder than everything else.

Comment

Are you talking about only putting one 220uf cap on the OT? They are not rated at a high enough voltage to handle that supply, you need two of them in series like the circuit shows. Plus it halves the value of the capacitors to 110uf.
          --Jim

He's like a new set of strings... he just needs to be stretched a bit.

Comment