Fender Bassman 200 with DC on output

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fender Bassman 200 with DC on output

Hello folks, a friend brought me his Bassman 200 to try and repair. One day it blew a fuse so he replaced the fuse and after that a loud nasty DC hum was present on the speaker output. So we know there is DC on the output. I am a total SS newb. Ive spent the last 8yrs repairing Tube related analog gear. to me those are just easier.
    anyways, he dissassembled the ouput and power supply board before dropping the amp off. Me being an idiot I ordered all new output transistors along with Q14 and Q15 and Q9 on the output board. The only transistors i didnt replaced were U1 and U2 on the output board.
    i replaced Q16, Q17, Q18, Q19. Q9, Q14 and Q15. power up the amp and blammo. its fried again but this time R21 (100ohm) blew like a lightning storm.
    I am just trying to wrap my head around this SS stuff. R21 is between Q14 and Q15 emitters.

look to page 13 of the attached PDF.

Obv Q14 and Q15 will need to be replaced again as one must be shorted to send that much current to burn out the 100ohm R21.

So measuring the resistance between the collector and emmiter on the output transistors one half are shorted again and the other half measure around 35ohms.

From what im gathering i should remove the shorted output transistors, replace R21 and then fire it back up. See if i can get it to stabilize. I do not believe its the power supply as i feel i would continuously be seeing problems in the power supply itself. but once stable i should be checking voltages of all sections.

Im looking to learn from this amp so please push me in the right direction.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by ThisLifeILead; 12-22-2015, 06:57 PM.

Originally posted by ThisLifeILead View Post
    Obv Q14 and Q15 will nee to be replaced as one must be shorted to send that much current to burn out the 100ohm R21.