Amp popping noise when switching pickups

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Amp popping noise when switching pickups

I have a vox ac4c1-bl and I added the bitmo voxmo15 kit. Afterwards I tried it out and it sounded great, no problems. It worked as it should.

I then experimented with some different preamp tubes. During this time I noticed popping when I switched my guitar pickups. Also scratchy volume pots. I plugged into a different amp and there were no problems. I returned the new tubes back to the AC4 which were fine beforehand.

I'm new to modding amps, and I'm thinking I messed up somehow. I may have overheated a cap when soldering, and perhaps it failed after running the amp for a bit. Or that I inadvertently damaged something while disassembling/reassembling.

Other changes I made to amp-
    I did the "bright caps mod" where you cut a leg of the c20 and c6 caps to improve the brittle sound. I had done this last week and did not have any problems.
    I also replaced the stock speaker with a greenback. The speaker is not the issue however.

Keeping in mind that I have little experience, can someone give any advice on how to track down the problem? Thanks for any help!
    Last edited by Amish Mel; 01-05-2016, 01:27 PM. Reason: improve detail

BitMo VoxMo15 Mod Kit for the Vox AC15

No schematic for the Vox ac4c1-bl amp?

No schematic for the BitMo?

Which caps did you cut out?

The AC4c-B had a small value capacitor across the input jack.
    If you removed that one, try putting it back.
    Last edited by Jazz P Bass; 01-05-2016, 02:17 PM.

Comment