Ntc thermo switch?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ntc thermo switch?

I am working on an ashdown evoii 300 ashdown bass magnifier.
    According to the owner it cuts out after heating up, i for te life of me cant get it to cut out.

There is an 'ntc60 TH1' mounted to the heat sink. I have no experience with these, i guess it opens up after a certain temp to protect the output trannys?

How to i check it to make sure its working ok? When setting my dmm to continuity and reading across the 2 terminals it reads open circuit, is that my clue? Replace?

So, the amp is working but the thermal switch reads open? I think we need a schematic.

I found this schematic linked to another thread for that model. Not sure, but it looks probable. The switch you referred to is probably the fan switch. So if the fan isn't running, that switch will read open.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Chuck H; 02-11-2016, 02:39 PM.
    "Take two placebos, works twice as well." Enzo

"Now get off my lawn with your silicooties and boom-chucka speakers and computers masquerading as amplifiers" Justin Thomas

"If you're not interested in opinions and the experience of others, why even start a thread?
    You can't just expect consent." Helmholtz

Comment

I cant find the correct one but i have been using this
      http://bmamps.com/Schematics/Ashdown...-schematic.pdf

Comment

Ah. Simulpost.

How are you attempting to get the amp to cut out? Dummy load and signal generator cranked up so the amp is making audio watts? Obviously it would be cumbersome to duplicate playing volumes. If it is that element causing the fault it could be a vibration issue. Try clipping your meter on with the amp playing and give it a whack while watching the meter.

"Now get off my lawn with your silicooties and boom-chucka speakers and computers masquerading as amplifiers" Justin Thomas

"If you're not interested in opinions and the experience of others, why even start a thread?

Comment