Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Blade Style Pickup - Ceramic Magnet Orientation

Hi,

Noob here, so any help is appreciated. This is the first time I've posted. I've been lurking around here for a while now.

I'm building blade humbucker using steel blades as poles. I'm sort of (emphasis on "sort of") copying an old pickup (T-40) with specs I've gathered on the internet. I was hoping to use a ceramic bar placed underneath placed across both poles with the edges of the magnet in contact with sides of the poles. I can't seem to find a ceramic bar magnet oriented across the width of the bar. Instead, they are all magnetized front and back. I am looking for a bar that is 2.5" L x 0.875" W x 0.125" D oriented in the 0.875" direction. I've spoken to a few vendors, one of which (Adams) was willing to cut them for about $12.00 apiece. Other than that, I've gotten a few quotes with huge minimums.

My questions are:

A) Does the orientation matter, and should I just go for it?

B) Is a ceramic magnet oriented in the 0.875" direction something I should just forget about unless I'm willing to suck it up and buy 50 of them? Does anyone know of a source that stocks such a thing?

C) Is there an alternative material?

Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by Freekmagnet; 02-16-2016, 02:09 AM. Reason: Added more info

Not sure your exact intent?
    Usually blade buckers use these parts.

2 bobbins.
    Blade Humbucker Bobbin Black

2 blades
    Steel Blade for Humbucker Bobbin

Either 2 or 4 of these magnets on the bottoms of the blades.
    1 or 2 magnets per blade.
    Ceramic 8 Bar Magnet 2.35'' Long

Baseplate
    Humbucker Short Leg Frame Nickel Silver 50mm

T
    "If Hitler invaded Hell, I would make at least a favourable reference of the Devil in the House of Commons." Winston Churchill
    Terry

Comment

Originally posted by big_teee View Post
      Not sure your exact intent?
      Usually blade buckers use these parts.

2 bobbins.