5F2a help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 5F2a help

I have a Weber-based 5F2a I built. It is largely stock with a few exceptions. I have a Sylvannia 12AX7 and a Sovtek 6V6 and swap between a NOS 5Y3 and the Weber copper cap equivalent.

I was pretty unhappy with the tone. My Mission 5E3 blows me away. The 5F2a is just "okay". I realize the speaker needs to settle in a bit, but still. The amp is very quiet. I substituted a few parts for higher quality equivalents (Alpha pots for starters and Sprague caps in the PS) to best assure that sort of signal integrity, and I think my build is decent although I am no pro by any measure. I am using metal film resistors throughout. I do need to get a better power tube in there. At least the Chinese tubes (absolute useless junk) are gone.

The tone control really has little effect over the majority of its sweep to my ears. The dynamics just are not very exciting, and the breakup is ratty and a little too harsh sounding. Some of that may be the Sovtek power tube which I have never liked anyway. The amp also doesn't have that top end shimmer and sparkle I expect from a Fender circuit. The Sylvannia preamp tube helped smoth this out a lot. Maybe a different tube would help even more, but I have a feeling it is something with the circuit or how it is implemented.

I decided to lift the negative feedback. I literally de-soldered the NFB wire at the speaker jack and fired up the amp to try it out. Wow. The amp came alive. It is very dynamic and has a nice growl when it breaks up. Of course, breakup happens very early, and the full on distortion can still be somewhat ratty. It has some sparkle and sounds very decent even compared to the 5E3.

I installed a toggle switch on the bottom of the chassis to switch between no feedback and the (stock) 22K resistor.