Champ 12

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Champ 12

I have recently acquired a Champ 12 amp. So far I have gutted the pathetic reverb, swapped the OT with a Hammond 125ESE, and swapped the speaker with a nice old 50's Jensen Alnico. The clean channel is much better, but the distortion channel is still "all or nothing". Can anybody help me tame this beast??

mods to try

Originally posted by what_wires View Post
    I have recently acquired a Champ 12 amp. So far I have gutted the pathetic reverb, swapped the OT with a Hammond 125ESE, and swapped the speaker with a nice old 50's Jensen Alnico. The clean channel is much better, but the distortion channel is still "all or nothing". Can anybody help me tame this beast??
    Try the attached schematic mods. I believe these came from Ray Ivers via another amp buddy of mine. They are simple and make a big difference in the sound of the champ 12.

Marc
    Attached Files

Comment

Torres mod + this one? OK?

I am a newbie to electronics, I have done a couple of the easy Torres mods to my Fender Champ 12 and had read on here about another simple mod to help with the tone on this amp ( starting to get some nice sound though with the Torres mods and new c12r Jensen). This simple mod was attributed to Ray Ivers who I messaged about and I dont know if he'll have the time to answer. In any case I was wondering if anybody had any opinions whether doing these changes (33k for R10, 330k for R16, .002 uF Cap for R18, C8 remove and C26 jumper) would enhance or conflict with the Torres tone mod.

Comment

The volume and gain pots in the "distortion" section of the Champ 12 are both 1 meg pots. Replace the "Gain" pot with a 500K and the "Volume" with a 250K and you will have much better control of that section of the amp. Kit can be purchased from Torres Engineering.

Comment

correction to my post