Dual Professional Reverb Problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dual Professional Reverb Problems

I have a Fender Dual Professional amp that has a lot of noise in the reverb.The reverb works fine but when you turn the mix knob up it gets a loud whooshing noise and when the intesity knob is turned up it gets a loud warbbling noise.Neither has to be turned on paste 2 for the problems to appear.Can anyone help me trouble shoot this problem?I have some experience troubleshooting tube amp but please keep it simple.
    TIA

The first thing I would do is try a "known good" tube in that socket. There are some other things it could be.Try the tube first.

Chuck
    "Take two placebos, works twice as well." Enzo

"Now get off my lawn with your silicooties and boom-chucka speakers and computers masquerading as amplifiers" Justin Thomas

"If you're not interested in opinions and the experience of others, why even start a thread?
    You can't just expect consent." Helmholtz

Comment

Not that this is your problem, but if you look at the schematic for this amp you'll notice that the poor 6V6 reverb driver is operating in class A at a ridiculously high voltage level.
      The supply is right off the choke and the highest point in the B+ rail.
      I usually mod these amps by breaking the B+ supply to the 6V6 driver OT with a 10watt 1k5 to 2K7 power resistor and new, 10uF/450v filter node in order to get the B+ at the 6V6 down to an acceptable level.
      There is a good chance your 6V6 is already trashed from this high B+ abuse.
      That noise could be the 6V6 screaming in pain.
      Bruce

Mission Amps
      Denver, CO. 80022
      www.missionamps.com
      303-955-2412

Comment

Thanks Bruce.Could you be a bit more specific as to where you put the resistor and cap.
        Thanks

Comment

Originally posted by locust View Post
          Thanks Bruce.Could you be a bit more specific as to where you put the resistor and cap.
          Thanks