Amp cradles... Worthwhile?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Amp cradles... Worthwhile?

How many of you use an amp cradle for your builds, or some other rig or platform? Are they worthwhile? If you use a different method or rig for holding your chassis, I'd be very interested in what's working out for you.
    sigpic

I didn't even know such a thing as an amp cradle existed. I prop chassis up with reels of solder, cans of beans, a vice grip or two... it's all good!

If I'm doing the metalwork from scratch too, I try to make sure the chassis will sit upside down of its own accord.
    "Enzo, I see that you replied parasitic oscillations. Is that a hypothesis? Or is that your amazing metal band I should check out?"

Comment

I'm all for using what you have around, but since I'm kinda new at this, I've been exploring the alternatives.

Here's a pic of an amp cradle that's adjustable for chassis width & angle via quick release:

sigpic

Comment

If you are in a production line environment, something like that might have value. But in all my years, I have found very few amps that didn't sit well on the bench all by themselves. Most amps I can sit on the bench on the tops of its transformers. Then I tilt it towards me so it leans on the edge of the chassis. Plenty stable. Usually the outputs clear the bench surface. in some cases the power tranny might be tall enough, but not the OT, or maybe both are at one end. In those cases, I do support the other end of the chassis.

For those times, a roll of solder is often a good hieght, or maybe a parts tub, small cardboard box, hunk of wood, my partner used to use a piece of 2x4.