Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Oliver Sound H100 - anyone seen a schematic?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oliver Sound H100 - anyone seen a schematic?

Hello,

I picked up this old Oliver Sound H100 recently - that's the company started by Jess Oliver of Ampeg fame. The company didn't last too long, and there's precious little info on the internet about these amps. Specificially this one. I've googled to the best of my abilities, and haven't been able to find any info.

If one doesn't exist out there in the wild, what do you think the chances are of reverse-engineering a schematic for thing thing? It's a relatively simple amp - 3 inputs, 3 knobs, 2 preamp tubes and 2 6L6s. But I don't know if I'm up to the task, since I'm just a beginner with amp tinkering.

Can anyone direct me to any resources for this sort of thing?

Since Jess & Ampeg were sort of "joined at the hip" I'd have a look at schematics of Ampegs of the same time period, bet you'll find something similar or identical to your Oliver.

Put up a photo of the innards & we can all join in the search.
    This isn't the future I signed up for.

Comment

The closest thing I've been able to find so far is this: http://www.tubebooks.org/file_downloads/oliver_amps.pdf. There's no H100 in the schematics there, but I'm hoping something's going to be close. Maaaaaybe the B120, seeing as how it's a 2 preamp / 2 power tube setup like mine.

I'll take some photos of the guts this evening and post them here. If anyone's willing to take a look and weigh in, it will be much appreciated.

Comment

I won't be home for a week but I have a Vintage Guitar article about Oliver Amps, and some schematics. I gigged with a Powerflex 500 for a bit in the 90's, the head rose from the cabinet and front panel illuminated at the flick of a switch, looked pretty dramatic on stage