Front panel Pot Placement

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Front panel Pot Placement

I have limited space on my Hohner chassis Tube Conversion build.
    If I use treble, middle, bass, and presence, the presence will be quite close to the PT.
    I'm considering dropping the middle control and just having treble, bass, & presence.
    Will I miss the middle control in the tone stack, or is it mainly window dressing anyway?
    I realize that fender has done treble, bass, for years, but I have no experience with that setup!
    T
    "If Hitler invaded Hell, I would make at least a favourable reference of the Devil in the House of Commons." Winston Churchill
    Terry

I don't think you'll miss it, you can always adjust the value of the mid resistor to your liking. Do stacked pots stick out too far for your liking?

Comment

I was considering just hard wiring a mid resistor in place, or put a trimmer inside the cab.
      The problem with stacked pots, is most of the pots are different values.
      using this tone stack.
      http://www.drtube.com/schematics/marshall/1986u.gif
      I could replace the 25k pot with maybe 2 -13k resistors.
      Or some sum of the two?
      Most of the time once I get the tone stack adjusted it never gets changed much?
      Thanks,
      T
      "If Hitler invaded Hell, I would make at least a favourable reference of the Devil in the House of Commons." Winston Churchill
      Terry

Comment

You could use 9mm pots and small knobs e,g Davies 1900H series (12.7mm dia) . Pins on this example rather than solder tags but that is not a deal breaker.

Click image for larger version

Name:	9mm.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	6.1 KB
ID:	842200
        Click image for larger version

Name:	knob 12-7mm.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	4.4 KB
ID:	842201
        Experience is something you get, just after you really needed it.

Comment