Unexpected piezo preamp blend effect.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unexpected piezo preamp blend effect.

Hi folks this is my first post to this group.

Very briefly, I've been playing for about 55 years, mostly acoustic fingerpicking, but in the past couple of decades I've gt interested in electric guitars and guitar electronics. - I'm a compulsive tinkerer.

Anyway back to the title topic. A while ago a had a go at combined a magnetic and piezo pickup in an acoustic guitar. After a fair bit of mucking about I ended up with the magnetic pickup in series with the output of the piezo preamp, a Maton AP5. The included a phase switch and volume control as a push-pull pot on the magnetic. I can now get any blend of magnetic and piezo output, from all-magnetic to all-piezo. It works much better than I expected, and in a surprising way. Even with the battery of the preamp pulled, the magnetic pickups works at full volume, that is as if the preamp had no resistance. Likewise, even when the volume is turned right down on the preamp, the magnetic pickup comes through full and strong. Is this normal, or is there something odd about this preamp? There doesn't seem to much adverse effect of the preamp on the magnetic signal.

Also, IIRC, the magnetic volume pot is an A250K, and it doesn't really act as a volume control, it only takes a tiny amount travel to go from full-on to full-off. Is there any easy solution for this? make a low-velue pot?

Thanks.

Can you add a series/parallel switch, and/or individual toggles to bypass the magnetic and piezo pickups? Series linkages can get complicated...

Steve Ahola
    The Blue Guitar
    www.blueguitar.org
    Some recordings:
    https://soundcloud.com/sssteeve/sets...e-blue-guitar/

Comment