Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Telecaster Bridge Pickup Baseplate - A New Look

Hello,

I was doing a random search of the net regarding the Telecaster baseplate and came across the thread "Tele bridge base plates...why?". It looks to be an old thread that was discussing if the bridge pickup baseplate was an after thought. Since I haven't received any feedback I figured I'd start a new discussion and see if there was still interest on the topic out there. I'm new to this, so I probably made some mistake in responding to the last thread.

The original thread got me thinking about a seldom used site, which could be used for research like this...the US Patent Office. I was able to obtain the patent number for his original guitar (Broadcaster) "combination bridge & pickup assemblies" [as it's referred to] dated, Oct. 30, 1951; it makes for interesting reading. It turns out I answered my own question too relating to the baseplate issue, but raised others.

As it appears, no additional plate is mentioned in the patent at all, only the bottom of the pickup (bobbin) also referred to as a 'baseplate' with the top of the bobbin being referred to as a 'headplate'. So the copper clad steel baseplate was a definite after thought otherwise it would have been mentioned in the text.

Also, the formed cover ['ashtray'] that the guitar would come to have in production is again lacking from the patent description. If it were to serve an actual purpose - i.e. shielding and was thought of originally, it would have been mentioned. Solid body electric guitars and their circuits were relatively new at the time, so anything that could be claimed would exclude other companies from capitalizing on his (Fender's) idea.

The only reference to a steel plate that was patented by C.L. Fender in relationship to pickups isn't until 1966...the Jaguar pickup!