Allen and heath zed fx16 no main output

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Allen and heath zed fx16 no main output

My Allen and heath mixer main l and r main outputs have stopped working. I have checked all of the aux outputs and everything else and they seem to be working. Is there anything specific I should check. I am fairly new to working on my own stuff, so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Welcome to the place.

It would be helpful to you and to all of us here if you had a copy of the service manual or at least the schematic for your unit in order for us to communicate on an equal basis.

If you have one, post it here. If you don't, then maybe someone here will have one to share.

Again, Welcome.

Comment

See if you have signal at the Mono output.

You can also check if you have a signal at the L/R insert jacks.

This may help narrow down the problem.

There is a block diagram in the manual that may help in the signal tracing:
      http://www.allen-heath.com/media/AP7...6FX_22FXUG.pdf

Comment

I cant find any on line schematics for this, but allen & heath have a lot of info on "old" units on their web page
        GL3 or these others may be similar enough
        GL3 - Allen & Heath
        http://www.allen-heath.com/ahproduct...rd3-16-2/#tab4
        http://www.allen-heath.com/ahproduct...x-12-2dx/#tab4
        http://www.allen-heath.com/ahproducts/pa12-cp/#tab4

Check you are getting power supply to the op amps on the master board
        Check all connectors are plugged in & one hasn't come loose
        It would seem unlikely that both L & R inserts have gone weird, if you have an insert lead, try it, or use a stereo lead & short together tip & ring to "bypass" the insert socket

Comment

When I hear both mains are out, other than a connector off, my first reaction is some makers put dual op amps between the L and R sections and the op amp is shared by the two channels, so one defective op amp can kill two outputs.