Mackie TH-15A

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mackie TH-15A

This powered speaker is THUMPING every 10 seconds or so. It's a blump blump... 2 thuds in less than a second...every 10 seconds. The red OL light comes on every time this happens. I realize this is an SMPS and is most likely something cycling in the power supply. I usually lose hours and hours of time trying to troubleshoot these and don't fix it. I'm not good at this sort of repair. I know they are very dangerous and that a scope is not to be used or is to be used in a very cautious specific way. So I won't be using one until I review those procedures.

My question: Is this worth my time? Does anyone have an idea from my description on what the problem might be? Would you commit time to fixing this? And, how do you all go about this repair?

Firstly, it's my experience that LOUD is very likely to send you a schematic. So, contact them, ask, and you shall receive. The power cycling is likely due to the amp trying to protect itself. Yes, it could be a power supply problem, but is more likely to be an amp problem. Check for shorted output transistors, DC on the output, rails coming up, etc., just like any other amp. IMO, it's certainly worth a look. It could be something as simple as a single shorted transistor. Or, it could be blown to smithereens. I would at least have a quick look.
    "I took a photo of my ohm meter... It didn't help." Enzo 8/20/22

Comment

Lowell.
      It's not worth it.
      They're crap from the get go.

'Thump' is the sound the unit makes when it hits the bottom of the dumpster.

Comment

Ha. Rather conflicting responses. I could do some basic tests in regards to shorted output transistors. But when it comes to the smps and all it's protection circuitry I'll be lost.

Comment

Originally posted by lowell View Post