Unsure how to re-gauss the magnets in this pickup

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unsure how to re-gauss the magnets in this pickup

Pickup is from an old Lori guitar. Very flat, top mount pickup. Anyway, I noticed the gauss at the screw poles were significantly weaker on the bridge pickup, which felt extremely weak. I'm just unsure how exactly to re-gauss the two magnets for the proper polarity and magnetic field pattern, in this pickup using a Neo magnet. This is my first time charging multiple bar magnets in a pickup and I want to make sure I do it correctly..

Thanks!
    Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG028.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	246.1 KB
ID:	870934

correct me anyone if i am wrong, but those magnets look ceramic

Comment

They do appear to be small ceramic magnets.
      Make sure the magnets are oriented correctly.
      Like this North/screws/North, or South/Screws/South.
      If one magnet gets flipped over, like South/screws/North?
      If that is the case it will read weak, and not operate correctly!
      T
      **Another observation.
      The top magnet in the picture, appears to be against the bobbin coil, and not against the steel keeper.
      I would try to get the magnets setting on the bobbin against the keeper.
      That will strengthen the magnetic field strength considerably!
      "If Hitler invaded Hell, I would make at least a favourable reference of the Devil in the House of Commons." Winston Churchill
      Terry

Comment

You may be right. I can't really tell, but judging by the gauss (or lack there of) I am going to assume they're not. Were ceramics popular back in the ~60's? AFAIK, the pickups stayed on the guitar it's entire life, so why a ceramic would lose so much charge is beyond me, but you never know, they may not have been brought to full gauss, at the factory.

I assumed they were either alnico or some sort of refrigerator type magnet

Comment

it could be that it was like that all its life...