Minimum Heater Current

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Minimum Heater Current

This is kind of an offshoot of another thread I started. If you are interested that thread is http://music-electronics-forum.com/t42828/ . The amp is a Fender Supersonic 60. Output tubes are two 6L6GC. The transformer was replaced with a Hammond 290VEX. Problem is that it is 240V and I am in a country with 220V. So now what I get is 5.4VAC across P13/P14, 24VAC across 15/16, 24.2VAC across 16/17 and 24VAC at tp10. Plate voltage at pin 5 is 418 V But it has been as high as 430V. If I was in the states I would have already bought the proper transformer but by the time it is shipped and goes through customs it could cost $400. My question.....is the heater current hot enough to not cause cathode poisoning or some other problem? If it will cause poisoning what exactly will that do and how long could it take? Thanks in advance. I am kind of new to this and people on this forum have been a great help.
    Last edited by gtto; 09-25-2016, 03:05 AM.

Originally posted by gtto View Post