Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Voodoo labs pedal power 2?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    487
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0

    Voodoo labs pedal power 2?

    hey guys i have a voodoo labs power pedal power supply and it stopped working. i had a look inside and everything seems to be ok, no visible signs of burnt compontents,and no burnt smell. i was wondering if this had a fuse but there seems to be no fuse. Anyone have any problems with thier power supply that may be similar?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Old Timer nosaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pace, FL
    Posts
    1,869
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 245/20
    Given: 25/5
    Quote Originally Posted by chuckb View Post
    hey guys i have a voodoo labs power pedal power supply and it stopped working. i had a look inside and everything seems to be ok, no visible signs of burnt compontents,and no burnt smell. i was wondering if this had a fuse but there seems to be no fuse. Anyone have any problems with thier power supply that may be similar?
    How about a gutshot? I worked on a Fender Mustang and I looked all over the board for a Fuse I knew must be there. It was a little round red cylinder device Replaced it and back in action. So a pic would help a bit.

    Thanks,
    nosaj

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    487
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    ya, i don't see anything like that on the board. could the indicator light act as a fuse?http://music-electronics-forum.com/a...4&d=1475531736
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pedal power 2.jpg 
Views:	931 
Size:	2.21 MB 
ID:	40894  

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Senior Member mozwell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    645
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 4/0
    Given: 0/0
    Can you measure ohms across the supply input (active to neutral) with any mains switch set to on. You should measure the resistance of the primary winding of the transformer.
    The transformer could have a thermal fuse build inside the primary winding. If its gone, you may be able to open the transformer & replace the thermal fuse, but this is only a temporary measure. If the transformer has failed in this way, it should be replaced.
    A quick ohms check will tell you all you need to know

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    487
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    ya, got no reading across the supply input.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Old Timer nosaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pace, FL
    Posts
    1,869
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 245/20
    Given: 25/5
    Quote Originally Posted by chuckb View Post
    ya, got no reading across the supply input.
    Take a pic of the IEC power port sometimes there's a fuse holder in them. A pic like your looking at the jack.

    nosaj

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  7. #7
    Old Timer nosaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pace, FL
    Posts
    1,869
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 245/20
    Given: 25/5
    Quote Originally Posted by nosaj View Post
    Take a pic of the IEC power port sometimes there's a fuse holder in them. A pic like your looking at the jack.

    nosaj
    Definately talk to tech support if all else fails. I was given a pedal by them that was hacked up pretty bad ( I didn't want to touch it without a schematic and they do not supply them)
    I contacted them and they repaired it for a total of 6.50(shipping and sent me a free shirt)
    nosaj

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  8. #8
    Tubewreck jmaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    BSB-DF
    Posts
    1,336
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 20/0
    Given: 20/0
    Bumping an old thread here to add some info I think may help some.

    I got one of these on my bench right now: the fuse is inside the transformer packaging. Take scissors and cut the top black label on the transformer in the direction parallel to the coils right in the center (split the code 408-0123 in the middle, cutting right through where the minus sign is). In the center there is a ridge where the coils meet, that's where the fuse is tucked in, under several layers of tape. There are wires going along the lower layers of tape, so be careful not to cut them.

    This is an interesting PS design. The transformer is "hum bucking", it has two opposing coils each generating a magnetic field in the opposite direction. The fields cancel out. Very interesting design.

    There is the "center tap" where the two coils are connected. In that center tap there is the fuse sitting between the two coils. Therefore the fuse sees half of mains voltage.

    What I did is jumper that center tap and I put a fuse on the mains entrance to the transformer, visible to everyone. Then I taped the transformer label back together.

    Hope this helps!

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  9. #9
    Old Timer nosaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pace, FL
    Posts
    1,869
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 245/20
    Given: 25/5
    Quote Originally Posted by jmaf View Post
    Bumping an old thread here to add some info I think may help some.

    I got one of these on my bench right now: the fuse is inside the transformer packaging. Take scissors and cut the top black label on the transformer in the direction parallel to the coils right in the center (split the code 408-0123 in the middle, cutting right through where the minus sign is). In the center there is a ridge where the coils meet, that's where the fuse is tucked in, under several layers of tape. There are wires going along the lower layers of tape, so be careful not to cut them.

    This is an interesting PS design. The transformer is "hum bucking", it has two opposing coils each generating a magnetic field in the opposite direction. The fields cancel out. Very interesting design.

    There is the "center tap" where the two coils are connected. In that center tap there is the fuse sitting between the two coils. Therefore the fuse sees half of mains voltage.

    What I did is jumper that center tap and I put a fuse on the mains entrance to the transformer, visible to everyone. Then I taped the transformer label back together.

    Hope this helps!
    no pics?


    nosaj

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  10. #10
    Tubewreck jmaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    BSB-DF
    Posts
    1,336
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 20/0
    Given: 20/0
    Here ya go.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20180615_164952668.jpg 
Views:	61 
Size:	2.83 MB 
ID:	49379


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4fba4ce0-b0b1-48c4-9b65-d40a3bfc16cd.jpeg 
Views:	63 
Size:	60.0 KB 
ID:	49378

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  11. #11
    Tubewreck jmaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    BSB-DF
    Posts
    1,336
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 20/0
    Given: 20/0
    If you're wondering about the damage to the left bobbin and why it was hastily cut, it was because we attempted a quick fix at a friend's guitar shop before I brought it home. With 6 hands wanting to have a look at the thing, a friend of mine accidentally pulled a wire and snipped it at the base of the bobbin. So after a couple of beers I brought mission-impossible home to attempt a fix. I managed to solder less than 1mm of wire near the base of the bobbin and covered it with epoxy to hold the new wire in place.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Espresso Portable Phantom Power Supply by Zeppelin Design Labs
    By ZDL in forum Plug Your Product/Service
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-09-2016, 09:15 PM
  2. Delta labs chorus pedal schematic?
    By yba-1 user in forum Guitar Effects
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-02-2012, 05:11 PM
  3. Voodoo Labs Tremolo schematic request
    By valvusmusicus in forum Guitar Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-13-2012, 10:01 PM
  4. Blue Voodoo 60: One power tube getting NO CURRENT!?!
    By analog in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-07-2010, 08:37 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-04-2009, 02:54 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •