Results 1 to 33 of 33

Thread: Voodoo labs pedal power 2?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    487
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    10

    Voodoo labs pedal power 2?

    hey guys i have a voodoo labs power pedal power supply and it stopped working. i had a look inside and everything seems to be ok, no visible signs of burnt compontents,and no burnt smell. i was wondering if this had a fuse but there seems to be no fuse. Anyone have any problems with thier power supply that may be similar?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Master Destroyer nosaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pace, FL
    Posts
    3,144
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,046/101
    Given: 143/35
    Rep Power
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by chuckb View Post
    hey guys i have a voodoo labs power pedal power supply and it stopped working. i had a look inside and everything seems to be ok, no visible signs of burnt compontents,and no burnt smell. i was wondering if this had a fuse but there seems to be no fuse. Anyone have any problems with thier power supply that may be similar?
    How about a gutshot? I worked on a Fender Mustang and I looked all over the board for a Fuse I knew must be there. It was a little round red cylinder device Replaced it and back in action. So a pic would help a bit.

    Thanks,
    nosaj

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    487
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    10
    ya, i don't see anything like that on the board. could the indicator light act as a fuse?http://music-electronics-forum.com/a...4&d=1475531736
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pedal power 2.jpg 
Views:	2155 
Size:	2.21 MB 
ID:	40894  

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Senior Member mozwell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    650
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 13/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    11
    Can you measure ohms across the supply input (active to neutral) with any mains switch set to on. You should measure the resistance of the primary winding of the transformer.
    The transformer could have a thermal fuse build inside the primary winding. If its gone, you may be able to open the transformer & replace the thermal fuse, but this is only a temporary measure. If the transformer has failed in this way, it should be replaced.
    A quick ohms check will tell you all you need to know

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    487
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    10
    ya, got no reading across the supply input.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Master Destroyer nosaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pace, FL
    Posts
    3,144
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,046/101
    Given: 143/35
    Rep Power
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by chuckb View Post
    ya, got no reading across the supply input.
    Take a pic of the IEC power port sometimes there's a fuse holder in them. A pic like your looking at the jack.

    nosaj

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  7. #7
    Master Destroyer nosaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pace, FL
    Posts
    3,144
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,046/101
    Given: 143/35
    Rep Power
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by nosaj View Post
    Take a pic of the IEC power port sometimes there's a fuse holder in them. A pic like your looking at the jack.

    nosaj
    Definately talk to tech support if all else fails. I was given a pedal by them that was hacked up pretty bad ( I didn't want to touch it without a schematic and they do not supply them)
    I contacted them and they repaired it for a total of 6.50(shipping and sent me a free shirt)
    nosaj

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  8. #8
    Valvulados.com jmaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Brasilia
    Posts
    1,374
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 41/1
    Given: 39/3
    Rep Power
    12
    Bumping an old thread here to add some info I think may help some.

    I got one of these on my bench right now: the fuse is inside the transformer packaging. Take scissors and cut the top black label on the transformer in the direction parallel to the coils right in the center (split the code 408-0123 in the middle, cutting right through where the minus sign is). In the center there is a ridge where the coils meet, that's where the fuse is tucked in, under several layers of tape. There are wires going along the lower layers of tape, so be careful not to cut them.

    This is an interesting PS design. The transformer is "hum bucking", it has two opposing coils each generating a magnetic field in the opposite direction. The fields cancel out. Very interesting design.

    There is the "center tap" where the two coils are connected. In that center tap there is the fuse sitting between the two coils. Therefore the fuse sees half of mains voltage.

    What I did is jumper that center tap and I put a fuse on the mains entrance to the transformer, visible to everyone. Then I taped the transformer label back together.

    Hope this helps!

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  9. #9
    Master Destroyer nosaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pace, FL
    Posts
    3,144
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,046/101
    Given: 143/35
    Rep Power
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by jmaf View Post
    Bumping an old thread here to add some info I think may help some.

    I got one of these on my bench right now: the fuse is inside the transformer packaging. Take scissors and cut the top black label on the transformer in the direction parallel to the coils right in the center (split the code 408-0123 in the middle, cutting right through where the minus sign is). In the center there is a ridge where the coils meet, that's where the fuse is tucked in, under several layers of tape. There are wires going along the lower layers of tape, so be careful not to cut them.

    This is an interesting PS design. The transformer is "hum bucking", it has two opposing coils each generating a magnetic field in the opposite direction. The fields cancel out. Very interesting design.

    There is the "center tap" where the two coils are connected. In that center tap there is the fuse sitting between the two coils. Therefore the fuse sees half of mains voltage.

    What I did is jumper that center tap and I put a fuse on the mains entrance to the transformer, visible to everyone. Then I taped the transformer label back together.

    Hope this helps!
    no pics?


    nosaj

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  10. #10
    Valvulados.com jmaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Brasilia
    Posts
    1,374
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 41/1
    Given: 39/3
    Rep Power
    12
    Here ya go.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20180615_164952668.jpg 
Views:	325 
Size:	2.83 MB 
ID:	49379


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4fba4ce0-b0b1-48c4-9b65-d40a3bfc16cd.jpeg 
Views:	292 
Size:	60.0 KB 
ID:	49378

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  11. #11
    Valvulados.com jmaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Brasilia
    Posts
    1,374
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 41/1
    Given: 39/3
    Rep Power
    12
    If you're wondering about the damage to the left bobbin and why it was hastily cut, it was because we attempted a quick fix at a friend's guitar shop before I brought it home. With 6 hands wanting to have a look at the thing, a friend of mine accidentally pulled a wire and snipped it at the base of the bobbin. So after a couple of beers I brought mission-impossible home to attempt a fix. I managed to solder less than 1mm of wire near the base of the bobbin and covered it with epoxy to hold the new wire in place.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  12. #12
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    4
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jmaf View Post
    If you're wondering about the damage to the left bobbin and why it was hastily cut, it was because we attempted a quick fix at a friend's guitar shop before I brought it home. With 6 hands wanting to have a look at the thing, a friend of mine accidentally pulled a wire and snipped it at the base of the bobbin. So after a couple of beers I brought mission-impossible home to attempt a fix. I managed to solder less than 1mm of wire near the base of the bobbin and covered it with epoxy to hold the new wire in place.
    Hi, do you have any suggestion to test the transformer? My PP2+ stoped to work at the begining of a session. It smelled burned and the enclosure was hot, I opened but found nothing visually. There is some point to try etc?
    Thanks a lot

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  13. #13
    Master Destroyer nosaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pace, FL
    Posts
    3,144
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,046/101
    Given: 143/35
    Rep Power
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by visualdistortion View Post
    Hi, do you have any suggestion to test the transformer? My PP2+ stoped to work at the begining of a session. It smelled burned and the enclosure was hot, I opened but found nothing visually. There is some point to try etc?
    Thanks a lot
    Read post 4

    nosaj

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Binkie McFartnuggets‏:If we really wanted to know the meaning of life we would have fed Stephen Hawking shrooms a long time ago.

  14. #14
    Valvulados.com jmaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Brasilia
    Posts
    1,374
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 41/1
    Given: 39/3
    Rep Power
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by visualdistortion View Post
    Hi, do you have any suggestion to test the transformer? My PP2+ stoped to work at the begining of a session. It smelled burned and the enclosure was hot, I opened but found nothing visually. There is some point to try etc?
    Thanks a lot
    Open it and test any of the xformer output pairs for ACV. You'll probably read zero which means the little fuse inside the transformer wrapping has blown. If you read any ACV above zero and below 18VAC (IIRC) then you're out of luck, it's probably a shorted turn somewhere in the windings. If the fuse has blown, then you can attempt the repair we discussed earlier. Still gotta find why the fuse blew because those regulators are well protected against shorts.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  15. #15
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    4
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Does the little fuse is like a standard fuse? like you can test the continuity between his legs? Because I opened the transformer and nothing pass between his legs.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  16. #16
    Valvulados.com jmaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Brasilia
    Posts
    1,374
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 41/1
    Given: 39/3
    Rep Power
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by visualdistortion View Post
    Does the little fuse is like a standard fuse? like you can test the continuity between his legs? Because I opened the transformer and nothing pass between his legs.
    Yep. Regular fuse.

    So it's blown. In my case the fuse didn't save the transformer but I hope you have better luck.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  17. #17
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    4
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Transforme die... so bad, need a new one. Thanks for your help.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  18. #18
    Valvulados.com jmaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Brasilia
    Posts
    1,374
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 41/1
    Given: 39/3
    Rep Power
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by visualdistortion View Post
    Transforme die... so bad, need a new one. Thanks for your help.
    These things need to be redesigned with smaller fuses not hidden in the transformer.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,906
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,431/1
    Given: 835/2
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by jmaf View Post
    These things need to be redesigned with smaller fuses not hidden in the transformer.
    Fuses buried in transformers are typically thermal fuses. These are triggered by over-temperature not over-current. That's why they need to be in thermal contact with the winding(s). Using a normal fuse instead would be kind of cheating regarding safety standards.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    - Own Opinions Only -

  20. #20
    Supporting Member The Dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    6,186
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,110/1
    Given: 880/1
    Rep Power
    16
    If I'm not mistaken, power transformers need to have a thermal fuse to be UL listed.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    “Yeah, well, you know, that’s just, like, your opinion, man.”

  21. #21
    Valvulados.com jmaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Brasilia
    Posts
    1,374
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 41/1
    Given: 39/3
    Rep Power
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by The Dude View Post
    If I'm not mistaken, power transformers need to have a thermal fuse to be UL listed.
    How come most transformers in consumer devices don't have a thermal fuse then?

    Quote Originally Posted by Helmholtz View Post
    Fuses buried in transformers are typically thermal fuses. These are triggered by over-temperature not over-current. That's why they need to be in thermal contact with the winding(s). Using a normal fuse instead would be kind of cheating regarding safety standards.
    I've never seen a guitar pedal catch fire.

    These things need a fuse to save the complex and expensive transformer inside them. I don't care where they put the fuse.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  22. #22
    Old Timer J M Fahey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    11,730
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,855/22
    Given: 1,452/35
    Rep Power
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by visualdistortion View Post
    Does the little fuse is like a standard fuse? like you can test the continuity between his legs? Because I opened the transformer and nothing pass between his legs.
    Please post a picture of the original fuse, I very much doubt it´s a conventional fuse.

    Usual *inside* transformers is a *thermal* fuse, a very different thing.

    Thermal fuse:



    or:


    -1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Juan Manuel Fahey

  23. #23
    Valvulados.com jmaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Brasilia
    Posts
    1,374
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 41/1
    Given: 39/3
    Rep Power
    12
    visualdistortion asked if he could test the fuse like he'd test a regular fuse, I hurriedly said yes ["you can test as"] regular fuse.

    That's all, I was just trying to help. I know where this is going and I have zero patience for this.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  24. #24
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    4
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    So on mine, after testing, the problem was on the primary of the transformer and the fuse was "blown". So I'm actually discussing with VL to get a new one. By the way do you think it's possible to add a Fuse in the AC input? Like drill the box and and put a fuse holder, maybe it can prevent from blowing more.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  25. #25
    Valvulados.com jmaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Brasilia
    Posts
    1,374
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 41/1
    Given: 39/3
    Rep Power
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by visualdistortion View Post
    So on mine, after testing, the problem was on the primary of the transformer and the fuse was "blown". So I'm actually discussing with VL to get a new one. By the way do you think it's possible to add a Fuse in the AC input? Like drill the box and and put a fuse holder, maybe it can prevent from blowing more.
    I'd surely tell my clients to mod these and add a mains fuse. Could use an axial wired fuse holder, from the mains socket, without having to drill the case.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  26. #26
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    2
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    I have been having a heck of a time trying to locate the issue with my PP2+
    I'm certain that my transformer fuse has blown.

    Unfortunately in my case, in the process of trouble-shooting I created another headache for myself.
    I removed the two TO-252 surface-mount packaged components without correctly documenting what they were!

    I am sure that at least one of them was a voltage regulator (maybe a 317) or a 311 perhaps..
    Is a fellow PP2+ owner able to tell me what is written on these two components - as well as which one goes where?

    Many thanks in advance, Waz in Perth.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  27. #27
    Valvulados.com jmaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Brasilia
    Posts
    1,374
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 41/1
    Given: 39/3
    Rep Power
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by Radarwaz View Post
    I have been having a heck of a time trying to locate the issue with my PP2+
    I'm certain that my transformer fuse has blown.

    Unfortunately in my case, in the process of trouble-shooting I created another headache for myself.
    I removed the two TO-252 surface-mount packaged components without correctly documenting what they were!

    I am sure that at least one of them was a voltage regulator (maybe a 317) or a 311 perhaps..
    Is a fellow PP2+ owner able to tell me what is written on these two components - as well as which one goes where?

    Many thanks in advance, Waz in Perth.
    IC5 and IC6 are both LM317

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  28. #28
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    2
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jmaf View Post
    IC5 and IC6 are both LM317
    Amazing. Thank-you!!

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  29. #29
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Ecuador
    Posts
    51
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 5/0
    Given: 33/0
    Rep Power
    5
    Hello, I'm sorry to revive this old thread, but I came across this exact same problem.
    This is a picture of the fuse. The print has faded a little but it read as follows:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_4038.JPG 
Views:	11 
Size:	294.5 KB 
ID:	55081
    AUPO
    A4-F JET
    130ºC x3
    2A 250V

    The problem is I can't get the same fuse, so I was thinking on installing an axial wired fuse as suggested, but don't know what value would be safe. I know the original is a thermal fuse, and I will install a fast blow fuse.
    Is 1A-250V good?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  30. #30
    Valvulados.com jmaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Brasilia
    Posts
    1,374
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 41/1
    Given: 39/3
    Rep Power
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by spunko View Post
    Hello, I'm sorry to revive this old thread, but I came across this exact same problem.
    This is a picture of the fuse. The print has faded a little but it read as follows:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_4038.JPG 
Views:	11 
Size:	294.5 KB 
ID:	55081
    AUPO
    A4-F JET
    130ºC x3
    2A 250V

    The problem is I can't get the same fuse, so I was thinking on installing an axial wired fuse as suggested, but don't know what value would be safe. I know the original is a thermal fuse, and I will install a fast blow fuse.
    Is 1A-250V good?
    For the 230VAC model a 250mA mains fuse will do. Note that the aux power outlet is not fused, it's a direct tap from mains.

    Was your transformer good after you removed the blown fuse?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  31. #31
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Ecuador
    Posts
    51
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 5/0
    Given: 33/0
    Rep Power
    5
    Everything's good, 9.35V in all outlets. Mine is 120VAC.

    I jumped the tap in the transformer, where the thermal fuse was connected, and added the fast blow fuse to the mains.

    What fuse would be good for 120VAC? for the moment I put the 1A.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  32. #32
    Valvulados.com jmaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Brasilia
    Posts
    1,374
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 41/1
    Given: 39/3
    Rep Power
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by spunko View Post
    Everything's good, 9.35V in all outlets. Mine is 120VAC.

    I jumped the tap in the transformer, where the thermal fuse was connected, and added the fast blow fuse to the mains.

    What fuse would be good for 120VAC? for the moment I put the 1A.
    You were luckier than my client. To Voodoo Labs' credit, he did play it for a while at 220V before it blew up.

    To try to protect the circuit you can use a 250mA fuse. It's twice the maximum continuous current. I don't know if the transformer inrush will blow it though.

    If you just want to avoid a fire you can use a 500mA.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  33. #33
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    283
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 112/11
    Given: 32/0
    Rep Power
    6
    try a slow blow,inrush current can easily blow the fast one.

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Espresso Portable Phantom Power Supply by Zeppelin Design Labs
    By ZDL in forum Plug Your Product/Service
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-09-2016, 09:15 PM
  2. Delta labs chorus pedal schematic?
    By yba-1 user in forum Guitar Effects
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-02-2012, 05:11 PM
  3. Voodoo Labs Tremolo schematic request
    By valvusmusicus in forum Guitar Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-13-2012, 10:01 PM
  4. Blue Voodoo 60: One power tube getting NO CURRENT!?!
    By analog in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-07-2010, 08:37 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •