Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: YETI50 Set to Work

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Adelaide, South Oz
    Posts
    738
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 68/0
    Given: 4/0
    Rep Power
    9

    YETI50 Set to Work

    The IT manager at work built himself a Ceriatone Yeti 50.
    When he tried to power it up it did'nt work and the output tubes red plated so he sent it home with me to do the set to work.
    There was absolutely no way I was going to fault find it and set to work without a schematic - so trace was done, see attached.
    The main problem was the layout diagram, to which it was built, shows the output tranny primary leads swapped from what they need to be, so it oscillated.
    Also found several wiring ommisions but no actual wiring errors from his build.
    All running now and he is happy.
    I put the voltage readings I got onto the schematic trace for future reference.
    Cheers,
    Ian
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	YETI50Sht3.jpg 
Views:	579 
Size:	63.8 KB 
ID:	41007   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	YETI50Sht2.jpg 
Views:	501 
Size:	64.8 KB 
ID:	41006   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	YETI50Sht1.jpg 
Views:	586 
Size:	63.9 KB 
ID:	41005   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Yeti50Sht4.jpg 
Views:	518 
Size:	64.8 KB 
ID:	41008  

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    503
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    13
    Good looking schematics. Is that a control labeled "pussy trim"?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    31,778
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,652/7
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    54
    Um, sure looks like it.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  4. #4
    Old Timer J M Fahey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    11,717
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,848/22
    Given: 1,446/35
    Rep Power
    26
    Thanks for the investigation.
    Absolutely hate schematic less projects.

    Got any demo showing how it sounds?
    What´s pussy trim supposed to do?
    Is it an internal trimmer or a user accesible pot?
    As shown it has the possibility of fully muting sound.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Juan Manuel Fahey

  5. #5
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    31,778
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,652/7
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    54

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    503
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    13
    subtle

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Adelaide, South Oz
    Posts
    738
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 68/0
    Given: 4/0
    Rep Power
    9
    Th PT control is a user control but on the rear panel. It is a gain trim / volume control.
    I think it will mainly allow you to trim the level of "overdrive" by affecting the signal level into the clipping zener diodes after the following gain stage + cathode follower.
    Think of it as Gain 2.5 if you like.
    Cheers,
    Ian

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  8. #8
    Supporting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    354
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 29/0
    Given: 26/0
    Rep Power
    8
    Calling that a loop is being a bit generous! I can see why people complain about it. Nice schematic and some good ideas in there to pilfer. It certainly has a lot of tonal options that's for sure.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Adelaide, South Oz
    Posts
    738
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 68/0
    Given: 4/0
    Rep Power
    9
    Quite Right - So many amps come with similar "loops" (line out /line in or effects out/effects in).

    No attempt to provide proper signal levels or output impedance. If you seriously wanted to use the effects loop then add one of the bufferd effects loop boards that various kit supliers offer.

    Cheers,
    Ian

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    85
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 8/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    3
    Old thread, but worth a shot. What were the omissions you found in the layout? I'm gonna start building one of these and yep... there's no schematic, just a layout.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Adelaide, South Oz
    Posts
    738
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 68/0
    Given: 4/0
    Rep Power
    9
    The layout is OK except for the output transformer primary connections, you need to check if the layout diagram has been corrected.
    That is why I put the date of the layout diagram on the schematics I drew. If your layout diagram still has that date then the primary connections to the output tubes are shown swapped from what they need to be.
    Follow what I put on the schematic.
    When I said ommisions I meant ommisions by the guy who did the build, not ommisions from the layout diagram.
    There are several places where adjacent pins on the board have to be joined. The builder missed those and left them out.
    He has been very happy with it - once I got it going for him.
    Cheers,
    Ian

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    85
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 8/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Gingertube View Post
    The layout is OK except for the output transformer primary connections, you need to check if the layout diagram has been corrected.
    That is why I put the date of the layout diagram on the schematics I drew. If your layout diagram still has that date then the primary connections to the output tubes are shown swapped from what they need to be.
    Follow what I put on the schematic.
    When I said ommisions I meant ommisions by the guy who did the build, not ommisions from the layout diagram.
    There are several places where adjacent pins on the board have to be joined. The builder missed those and left them out.
    He has been very happy with it - once I got it going for him.
    Cheers,
    Ian
    Awesome, thank you. Yes, Ceriatone updated their layout to swap the OT primaries. Your schematics are great.

    I have a Chupacabra, which is the same amp (slight voicing change) and it sounds great. But I'm gonna build my own voiced a little differently.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    85
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 8/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    3
    Also, are you missing a cap in the DC Heater supply? According to the the layouts (and the amp I have in front of me), there is a third 4700uF cap in there that I don't see in your schematic. Unless I'm missing something?


    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by FourT6and2; 05-31-2017 at 01:02 AM.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Adelaide, South Oz
    Posts
    738
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 68/0
    Given: 4/0
    Rep Power
    9
    Good Catch,
    Yes I missed the output cap after the voltage reg for the heater DC supply.
    Also you could use the more readily available 5V regulator IC and put 2 series connected diodes in the common circuit (GND pin) to 0V to give 5V +2 x 0.7V = 6.4 V for heater.
    Cheers,
    Ian

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. I've got to set up my Guitar
    By silverfox in forum Guitar Tech
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-27-2014, 09:03 PM
  2. Jazzmaster set
    By BillScheltema in forum Beginner/ Hobbyist
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-11-2012, 07:28 PM
  3. First set of Jm's
    By BillScheltema in forum Pickup Makers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-10-2012, 07:32 AM
  4. Sterio set up
    By delb in forum Guitar Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-30-2009, 02:47 PM
  5. Is this set-up possible?
    By TedCrocker in forum Guitar Tech
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-06-2007, 03:32 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •