Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Behringer DDX3216 - Problems with boot

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    4
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0

    Behringer DDX3216 - Problems with boot

    Hi all,
    I'm new in this forum and I've found here very useful infos about the Behringer DDX3216 Mixer.
    I have a trouble with this device. I've already read all the previous threads but unfortunately I haven't found the solution.
    In my DDX3216, the first part of boot is correct but the mixer remains in the state shown by the following picture.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo_2016-11-06_20-55-21.jpg 
Views:	736 
Size:	9.1 KB 
ID:	41380

    Fader positions are not shown on the display. Furthermore, pressing buttons makes no change in the mixer state and all faders remains in the lower position. The 7-segments displays are off. All the front panel is "freezed" and, obviously, there is no sound at the output.

    I've checked the PSU, that is correctly working (tested with resistive loads and oscilloscope), and the crystal Q3 that oscilllate.
    I try to disconnect all the flat cables from the CPU01 board, except the display, and the boot procedure ends with something like "error, check faders...": so, I think that the 386 CPU is working correctly (maybe...)

    Can you help me? I don't know where to turn

    Thanks (and sorry for my bad English, I'm Italian)!
    Alessio

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Master Destroyer nosaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pace, FL
    Posts
    3,116
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,020/100
    Given: 141/35
    Rep Power
    11
    This link may be of some assistance. Theres like 6 pages there, don't reply in that thread though, place your questions here.

    Thanks,
    nosaj
    http://music-electronics-forum.com/t24165-5/

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    4
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi nosaj,
    thanks for your reply!

    I have the same problem reported by soundmandoug: after the CPU completes it's power-on sequence (about 14 seconds, during which the display shows the "DDX3216" splash screen) the faders are not loaded and buttons are un-responsive.
    Soundmandoug solves this problem by changing EEPROMs with ones bring out from a working unit.

    I haven't another DDX3216 to try this solution. So, I re-flash EEPROMs with BIN files uploaded by S2udio, but unfortunately this not works: now, the mixer shows a message like "UNCORRECT PROGRAM". Another user said that the uploaded files are not working.

    Finally, can anyone help me with a working set of BIN files?
    Many thanks!
    Alessio

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    62
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    8
    Check the fader board for dry joints/ bad ribbon cable.....there is an eprom up there as well that can go corrupt ,a while now since I had any trouble with my two desks,
    One of the main epproms deals with fader positions ,leds etc etc.....cant remember which one ?
    Those flash files do work , you need ver 1.12 update to run them and always set to factory default at first load., they will error if you don't.. ADAT cards we fitted to the imaged desks.
    Sorry been awhile since my last DDX episode.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    4
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi all! Thanks for your replies, and sorry for my absence in this thread.

    Quote Originally Posted by S2udio View Post
    Those flash files do work , you need ver 1.12 update to run them and always set to factory default at first load., they will error if you don't.. ADAT cards we fitted to the imaged desks.
    Well, I tried to start my desk with your files, by pressing SETUP + 1-16CH buttons (in order to reset the device) but the display said "No valid program - Restart update". My mixer has only one ADAT card.
    Can you help me? Are you sure that your EEPROM files are correct?

    Many, many thanks!
    Alessio

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    4
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Elettronico View Post
    Hi all! Thanks for your replies, and sorry for my absence in this thread.


    Well, I tried to start my desk with your files, by pressing SETUP + 1-16CH buttons (in order to reset the device) but the display said "No valid program - Restart update". My mixer has only one ADAT card.
    Can you help me? Are you sure that your EEPROM files are correct?

    Many, many thanks!
    Alessio

    Hi all!
    I resolved my problem using another DDX3216 unit, borrowed by a friend.
    I copied the EEPROMs code from the working unit, then I flashed my EEPROMs.
    Finally, IT WORKS!!!

    Here are EEPROMs bin files, DDX3216 v1.1 with an ADAT expansion.
    CPU_EEPROM_DDX3216_v1.1.zip

    Bye bye!

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    48
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 3/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    You totally saved my unit! Thank you so much!

    I have had this repair sitting in the corner for more than a year and when I came across your dumps I thought, can't hurt to try. And it worked. Still testing the unit but it looks like this was the only problem - apart from an old display...

    Thanx again.

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi, Elettronico!
    I have the same problem.
    I think that you changed the eprom IC19, becouse is only one time programmable. And reprogrammed the others that are flash eeproms. No?
    Thanks.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    15
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi!

    I had the same problem on the LCD (missing faders) after replacing the CPU (AM386SC300). Device reset solved the problem in my case.

    ingo.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks.
    I solved reprogramming the flash eeproms with the binaries that I found at the forum """"problems with boot"""". Now it is fine.
    Thanks again.

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    46
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Guys ... you need to fix the forum editor. It's acting erratic.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    46
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Elettronico View Post
    Hi all!
    I resolved my problem using another DDX3216 unit, borrowed by a friend.
    I copied the EEPROMs code from the working unit, then I flashed my EEPROMs.
    Finally, IT WORKS!!!

    Here are EEPROMs bin files, DDX3216 v1.1 with an ADAT expansion.
    CPU_EEPROM_DDX3216_v1.1.zip

    Bye bye!
    Not working.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  13. #13
    Master Destroyer nosaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pace, FL
    Posts
    3,116
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,020/100
    Given: 141/35
    Rep Power
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Phoebus1966 View Post
    Guys ... you need to fix the forum editor. It's acting erratic.
    Please elaborate on what you mean.

    Thanks,
    nosaj

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Binkie McFartnuggets‏:If we really wanted to know the meaning of life we would have fed Stephen Hawking shrooms a long time ago.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    46
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by nosaj View Post
    Please elaborate on what you mean.

    Thanks,
    nosaj
    You see the empty entry just above here? Well that is because after having made that entry successfully I wanted to edit it by tapping (android here) on the pensil. I get the edit page and scroll down to see the my text. I tap on it to add text. What happens next the screen browser goes back to the thread with the entry completely erased.

    If you wish I can mail you screen capture of the process.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  15. #15
    Master Destroyer nosaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pace, FL
    Posts
    3,116
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,020/100
    Given: 141/35
    Rep Power
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Phoebus1966 View Post
    You see the empty entry just above here? Well that is because after having made that entry successfully I wanted to edit it by tapping (android here) on the pensil. I get the edit page and scroll down to see the my text. I tap on it to add text. What happens next the screen browser goes back to the thread with the entry completely erased.

    If you wish I can mail you screen capture of the process.
    Do you have a computer that you can see if it is duplicated?
    Are you in mobile mode or default vb4 mode? If your not sure down at the bottom of this page lower left is a drop down that lets you choose styles. See if it does it in both styles. From here it just looks as though you deleted the message as I can see what you typed then deleted.

    nosaj

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Binkie McFartnuggets‏:If we really wanted to know the meaning of life we would have fed Stephen Hawking shrooms a long time ago.

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    46
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    There is no styles drop down at the bottom.
    I did not tap on any delete function.
    I use Samsung's own browser on a Samsung J530F.
    Try an Android smartphone yourself to experience the problem: Tap pencil, scroll to text frame, tap on text frame to change its contents. Poof! All disappears. I repeat: I do not tap on any delete function. No way.
    I can mail you a video capture of the process.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    46
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    I am in Mobile style, not Full Site style. But that's not a 'drop down' menu.

    In Full Site style everything is too small of course, that is why there is the Mobile style.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Behringer DDX3216 - Trying to repair, please help!
    By fznuk in forum Music Electronics
    Replies: 301
    Last Post: 05-08-2019, 09:53 PM
  2. Behringer DDX3216 problem
    By sergio77 in forum Music Electronics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-12-2016, 08:29 AM
  3. Behringer DDX3216 problems
    By choe62 in forum Music Electronics
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-28-2015, 08:19 PM
  4. Behringer DDX3216 revival
    By Wayne Leeds in forum Music Electronics
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-23-2014, 02:43 PM
  5. Behringer DDX3216
    By guitardad in forum Schematic Requests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-03-2013, 01:17 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •