Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: moving filter caps in a 5F6A to the main board?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    322
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    13

    moving filter caps in a 5F6A to the main board?

    Hi,
    I am about to rebuild my harp player's tweed bassman RI and convert it to point to point. At the moment it has the original PCB with lots of questionable mods performed with tiny wires, plastic pots and all kinds of inferior components. It's unreliable and craps out every other gig. The question is, if I build a new main board it would not be a problem to move the filter caps out of the can to the main board (like in a 5F4 or so). With the size of modern quality filter caps there is enough space and it would make future cap swaps a lot easier. Is there any downside of doing it this way?

    thanks!

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Bent Member Chuck H's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    pacific north west
    Posts
    14,987
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2,029/4
    Given: 2,316/0
    Rep Power
    29
    FWIW I use radial caps now because of their lower cost for quality. I've been using Nichicon PW's and liking it. Here's an image from another thread where mounting them on eyelet boards with minimal footprint was discussed:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	radialcapm.png 
Views:	91 
Size:	15.2 KB 
ID:	41811  

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    "Never bet your life on somebody else doing their job." SoulFetish's good friend

    "Now get off my lawn with your silicooties and boom-chucka speakers and computers masquerading as amplifiers" Justin Thomas

    "Being born on third base and thinking that you must have hit a triple is pure delusion!" Steve A

    "Back to the amp. It makes horrible sounds when I play my guitar thru it... because I suck at playing guitar." Mike6158

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. main filter caps wiring
    By Doc Stitches in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-27-2016, 08:52 PM
  2. Hartke Main Board Schematic
    By steelguy in forum Schematic Requests
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-04-2013, 12:33 AM
  3. Any reason not to put preamp filter caps on main board?
    By Hardtailed in forum Theory & Design
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 08-14-2010, 05:28 PM
  4. 5F6A Clone Blew Main Fuse
    By tonecat in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-11-2010, 07:03 AM
  5. Marshall TSL100 Main Board
    By BrotherJ in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-18-2009, 01:32 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •