Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Static while recording with new mic

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    3
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0

    Static while recording with new mic

    So I recently bought a CAD audio GXL2600USB microphone (here's a link if that helps: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00RQNVPSA..._.CEzyb863E288) and while recording, there is a lot of white noise or 'static' in the background and I can't seem to figure out how to get rid of it. It's just a straight plug and play USB microphone and I am plugging it straight into my laptop. I tried recording with audacity, fl studio, and plain old windows speech recorder. Please help!

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by Marshmallow; 12-30-2016 at 12:04 PM.

  2. #2
    Bent Member Chuck H's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    pacific north west
    Posts
    15,765
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2,606/4
    Given: 3,061/0
    Rep Power
    30
    Have you read all the instructions for the microphone, the sound card in your lap top and the interface software? There may be a sensitivity mismatch between the microphone and the computer input/sound card. This can result in a higher noise floor. The microphone may have a switch on it (I didn't read about it) and your sound card may have user adjustable parameters in it's own or the interface software? You want the microphone output to be as close as possible to the maximum allowable input for the sound card short of clipping. Information on how to achieve this should be available in literature specific to your devices. Interpreting the information, relating the devices to each other and learning a solution can seem daunting, but the answer is there. You might be able to shorten the process by focusing on terms like "sensitivity", "noise floor" and "unity".

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by Chuck H; 12-30-2016 at 06:06 PM.
    "In fact when I run into problems working on electronic circuirts, there are so many times that when I finally track it down, the source of the problem is located between my soldering iron and my seat." SoulFetish

    "Now get off my lawn with your silicooties and boom-chucka speakers and computers masquerading as amplifiers" Justin Thomas

    "Being born on third base and thinking that you must have hit a triple is pure delusion!" Steve A

  3. #3
    Old Timer olddawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    La Jolla CA, Hanalei, Kauai
    Posts
    3,020
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 319/0
    Given: 34/1
    Rep Power
    16
    Have you turned off your wifi? That will cause all manor of hisses, clicks, and pops if left on. If you must have internet access, hard wire it with an Ethernet cable.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Master Destroyer nosaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pace, FL
    Posts
    3,306
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,161/102
    Given: 160/36
    Rep Power
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by olddawg View Post
    Have you turned off your wifi? That will cause all manor of hisses, clicks, and pops if left on. If you must have internet access, hard wire it with an Ethernet cable.
    We had just gave our Grandson a battery operated clock that shines stars on the ceiling. It put out so much Hash the baby monitor would go crazy. Pull the batteries out of the clock no more issues. I believe the old timers had a trick involving a AM radio to track down interference.

    Nosaj

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Supporting Member eschertron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Great Black Swamp
    Posts
    2,267
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 448/0
    Given: 1,207/1
    Rep Power
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by olddawg View Post
    Have you turned off your wifi? That will cause all manor of hisses, clicks, and pops if left on. If you must have internet access, hard wire it with an Ethernet cable.
    +1. It never fails to catch me off guard when I set my cell phone down on the computer desk. Static-y noise to be sure. I really freaked out the first time I had a wireless guitar transmitter hanging right next to the phone that was on a belt holster. I thought the room was about to blow up!

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    If it still won't get loud enough, it's probably broken. - Steve Conner
    If the thing works, stop fixing it. - Enzo
    We need more chaos in music, in art... I'm here to make it. - Justin Thomas
    MANY things in human experience can be easily differentiated, yet *impossible* to express as a measurement. - Juan Fahey


  6. #6
    "Thermionic Apocalypse" -JT nickb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon, UK
    Posts
    3,594
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 796/1
    Given: 616/1
    Rep Power
    14
    Can you post a sample so we can hear the nature of the noise?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Experience is something you get, just after you really needed it.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    3
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Sadly, the microphone came with absolutely no 'instructions' other than a little paper that showed the parts. The microphone doesn't have a switch and As far as any adjustable parameters on my sound card in my laptop I have no idea. I adjusted the listening volume in the properties menu of the microphone in my laptop, and I primarily ise audacity to record, and the settings I use with it match up with the specs I have set for the microphone. Can you give me any more information on changing settings with my sound card?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    3
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    I am currently not at home and won't be for a few days, but when I get back I will post a sample. It sounds just like straight up static or white noise. I moved the mic way away from everything and in an almost silent environment and I can still hear it.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  9. #9
    Supporting Member eschertron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Great Black Swamp
    Posts
    2,267
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 448/0
    Given: 1,207/1
    Rep Power
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Marshmallow View Post
    I am currently not at home and won't be for a few days, but when I get back I will post a sample. It sounds just like straight up static or white noise. I moved the mic way away from everything and in an almost silent environment and I can still hear it.
    So you can move the laptop and microphone to different spaces and get the noise. Have you tried a different room, different building? Can you take your laptop to a music store and audition one of their mics, just to prove where in the hardware chain the noise is generated?

    And not to be picky, but is it more like static (random, 'clicky') or more like white noise (smooth, 'hissy')? Whatever the interference is may be identified by its signature. Looking forward to a sound sample.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    If it still won't get loud enough, it's probably broken. - Steve Conner
    If the thing works, stop fixing it. - Enzo
    We need more chaos in music, in art... I'm here to make it. - Justin Thomas
    MANY things in human experience can be easily differentiated, yet *impossible* to express as a measurement. - Juan Fahey


  10. #10
    "Thermionic Apocalypse" -JT nickb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon, UK
    Posts
    3,594
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 796/1
    Given: 616/1
    Rep Power
    14
    Here is your best bet Contact Support: (Toll Free)-800-762-9266 or email support@cadaudio.com. They should be able to tell if the noise is abnormal. Then you can decide what to do - replace or get refund. It is supposed to be "studio quality", not that that means much.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Experience is something you get, just after you really needed it.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Getting an XLR mic to feed into a computer mic input
    By bowesj in forum Fun with computers
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 06-07-2016, 09:02 PM
  2. recording drums
    By frosty55 in forum Music Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-09-2010, 07:46 PM
  3. Best recording amp
    By rymac in forum Kit Amps
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-24-2010, 09:31 PM
  4. Tube Mic Fried DIGI 001 Mic Pre?
    By chinrest in forum Music Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-02-2009, 11:15 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •