Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: 6CZ5

  1. #1
    Supporting Member The Dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    5,865
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 847/1
    Given: 690/1
    Rep Power
    15

    6CZ5

    I'm looking for some 6CZ5 tubes. I can find them, but I thought if somebody here was wanting to get rid of some, I could help out. Reply or PM me if you want to work a deal. Thanks!

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    “Yeah, well, you know, that’s just, like, your opinion, man.”

  2. #2
    Bent Member Chuck H's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    pacific north west
    Posts
    14,678
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,713/4
    Given: 1,888/0
    Rep Power
    29
    If no one chimes in...

    The 6973 tube is supposed to be a good sub in most amps. The specs are similar enough (the 6973 actually looks a little burlier) the only difference I can see in the pinout is that the 6CZ5 has G2 connected to pin 1 and nothing on pin 8 and the 6973 has G2 connected to pin 1 and pin 8. So check the sockets to be sure pin 8 isn't being used as a benign lug. EH is making a current production 6973 for $18 and change.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    "Never bet your life on somebody else doing their job." SoulFetish's good friend

    "Now get off my lawn with your silicooties and boom-chucka speakers and computers masquerading as amplifiers" Justin Thomas

    "Being born on third base and thinking that you must have hit a triple is pure delusion!" Steve A

    "Back to the amp. It makes horrible sounds when I play my guitar thru it... because I suck at playing guitar." Mike6158

  3. #3
    Supporting Member The Dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    5,865
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 847/1
    Given: 690/1
    Rep Power
    15
    Thanks for the head's up! I knew it was a sub, but hadn't really gotten around to checking details, yet. It's for an old Magnatone Custom 280. I just emailed an estimate to the customer. I'm not even %100 he's going to go ahead with the repairs. Just getting my ducks in a row.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    “Yeah, well, you know, that’s just, like, your opinion, man.”

  4. #4
    Bent Member Chuck H's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    pacific north west
    Posts
    14,678
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,713/4
    Given: 1,888/0
    Rep Power
    29
    Magnatone actually changed that amp from 6CZ5 tubes (280) to 6973 tubes (280A). I don't what might be connected to pin 8 on the 280 model though since I've never seen one. So yeah. check to be sure.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    "Never bet your life on somebody else doing their job." SoulFetish's good friend

    "Now get off my lawn with your silicooties and boom-chucka speakers and computers masquerading as amplifiers" Justin Thomas

    "Being born on third base and thinking that you must have hit a triple is pure delusion!" Steve A

    "Back to the amp. It makes horrible sounds when I play my guitar thru it... because I suck at playing guitar." Mike6158

  5. #5
    Supporting Member mozz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    NEPA
    Posts
    767
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 151/1
    Given: 109/0
    Rep Power
    4
    The 280a pdf schematic shows V8,9,10,11 listed as 6CZ5,6973. I was under the impression they were both interchangeable.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Bent Member Chuck H's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    pacific north west
    Posts
    14,678
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,713/4
    Given: 1,888/0
    Rep Power
    29
    Quote Originally Posted by mozz View Post
    The 280a pdf schematic shows V8,9,10,11 listed as 6CZ5,6973. I was under the impression they were both interchangeable.
    The way I saw it the 6CZ5 is a slightly lower spec tube than the 6973. So you can put 6973's in an amp that uses 6CZ5's (provided the pin 8 thing isn't a problem) but you can't always put 6CZ5's into an amp that uses 6973's if the amp pushes the tubes in voltage and/or current.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    "Never bet your life on somebody else doing their job." SoulFetish's good friend

    "Now get off my lawn with your silicooties and boom-chucka speakers and computers masquerading as amplifiers" Justin Thomas

    "Being born on third base and thinking that you must have hit a triple is pure delusion!" Steve A

    "Back to the amp. It makes horrible sounds when I play my guitar thru it... because I suck at playing guitar." Mike6158

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •