Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

VHT 12/20RT - Watts VVR non-functional - Fix or return?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• VHT 12/20RT - Watts VVR non-functional - Fix or return?

I just bought a "Open Box" VHT 12/20RT on eBay at a great price ($360). After 2 weeks I've noticed that turning the Watts knob does nothing. Since the amp was open box, I doubt it is covered by warranty, but I could probably ship it back for a refund. The problem is ... I doubt I could get another one at the same price that I paid, plus I'd be out whatever it costs to ship it. And I really like this amp. I can do basic wiring, but I've never worked on an amp before. So I'm trying weight between returning the amp or fixing it. Does anyone have any advice on how to diagnose my problem and what kind of potential costs I could be looking at to repair it?

VHT 12/20RT Schematic

Welcome to the Forum.

You may be expecting something else out of the "Watts" control.

It is the internal high voltage that is applied to the output tubes.
    It is utilized only when switching tube types.

When using 6L6/ EL34 output tubes, the switch is set to 20 watts.

For 6V6 tubes, the switch is set to 12 watts.

https://images.thomann.de/pics/prod/vht_1220_manual.pdf

Comment

What Jazz P Bass said ^^^. And if you got an amp you're really happy with, for only $360, why not hang onto it?

Also, "when all else fails, read the directions (owners manual.)" A cheap lesson in life's realities.
      This isn't the future I signed up for.

Comment

No, we're talking about two different controls here. There is a switch behind the rear panel that toggles between 12/20 watts. I have not touched that one - my understanding is that it's only for when I put in a different set of tubes.