Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: 5f1 champ w/electronic reverb

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    5
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0

    5f1 champ w/electronic reverb

    Has anyone successfully found a layout for adding an electronic reverb to a 5f1 circuit? I know this is continuing an old thread and i saw some ideas and schematics but not a good 5F1 layout. Any ideas or suggestions?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20170207_114727.jpg 
Views:	796 
Size:	2.30 MB 
ID:	42487  

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by Ampman33; 02-23-2017 at 02:13 AM. Reason: Original layout

  2. #2
    Old Timer olddawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    La Jolla CA, Hanalei, Kauai
    Posts
    2,977
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 287/0
    Given: 30/1
    Rep Power
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by Ampman33 View Post
    Has anyone successfully found a layout for adding an electronic reverb to a 5f1 circuit? I know this is continuing an old thread and i saw some ideas and schematics but not a good 5F1 layout. Any ideas or suggestions?
    Use a pedal....

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    5
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by olddawg View Post
    Use a pedal....
    no fun in that. A 2 tube verb can be added using the detail from an AA1164 but i have a super quite amp and have just came across an electronic reverb so im going to try to use it. Although there is nothing wrong with stomp boxes if that's what a person likes.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    5
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    There is very little to no support from the companies that sell these units. If anyone has done this please mark up the layout and post it here. Evidently there are several people that are having the same issue or want to do the same thing.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    32,024
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,818/7
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    55
    Um, what units? And what support do you need? I am a little confused: You want to add a tube reverb system to a Champ, but then mention electronic reverb. You have to pick one as their needs are totally different. Oh, in fact electronic reverb could mean either a rack unit or one of thos solid state module reverbs.

    As to support, Fender circuits have worked for 50 years just fine, so a straight lift is likely to work. No company supports altering their products. You just have to figure out how to wedge it into a Champ. Is the tiny Champ power transformer going to be able to power the extra tubes? Where will you put them? Is there room for even the small reverb pans in the Champ?

    Little electronic module? The data sheet has the circuit it needs, just replicate that. But where will you get the power supply for it? The people that make it can't provide a thousand power supply circuits for all the possible applications. You also have the signal level problem. Signal levels in a Champ can be tens of volts. You'd have to essentially add an FX loop circuit, something to step the signal down for the little gadget, then boost the result back up to tube levels.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    5
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    I agree completely, i want to use the digilog module in a champ. I dont know if anyone has tried this. Im not sure about obtaining the correct input impedance or where to get it from. As i said, i have the correct regulated power supply and switching it is no problem. Just not sure about the best place to tap into the circuit. Im a tube guy and dont know much about these electronic modules but it seems like a nice alternative to tube driven reverb.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    2,232
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 537/4
    Given: 286/0
    Rep Power
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by Ampman33 View Post
    i want to use the digilog module in a champ. I dont know if anyone has tried this. Im not sure about obtaining the correct input impedance or where to get it from.
    Which module do you have? There's an application circuit on page 3 of the pdf below. It needs more than the power supply and module to make a working reverb circuit. The input impedance is 10k in the example.

    BTDR-2.pdf

    -1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  8. #8
    Old Timer olddawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    La Jolla CA, Hanalei, Kauai
    Posts
    2,977
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 287/0
    Given: 30/1
    Rep Power
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by Ampman33 View Post
    I agree completely, i want to use the digilog module in a champ. I dont know if anyone has tried this. Im not sure about obtaining the correct input impedance or where to get it from. As i said, i have the correct regulated power supply and switching it is no problem. Just not sure about the best place to tap into the circuit. Im a tube guy and dont know much about these electronic modules but it seems like a nice alternative to tube driven reverb.
    Honestly... I don't get the point of this. It's a tiny, simple amp with no overhead. There really isn't a good incertion point accept at the input. You will basically be building a digital pedal in the amp. I can tell you by experience that a pedal works fine with these little amps. Not as well as reverb in the mains with it miked but it does work. You will never get "surf" out of it.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  9. #9
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    32,024
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,818/7
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    55
    OK, so where would you insert a tube reverb circuit as a tube guy? The reverb technology doesn't matter. You need to tap off the signal path to feed the reverb drive circuit, then the reverb output has to mix back into the signal path at a later point. That you have to massage signal levels for the various technologies is just a detail.

    A Champ is about as simple an amp as it gets, and there really isn't a good place to insert a reverb, in my view.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  10. #10
    Senior Member TimmyP1955's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    422
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 36/0
    Given: 21/1
    Rep Power
    13
    Build a PR but put a Champ PI and output in it.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  11. #11
    Old Timer
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Chill-Ville, VA
    Posts
    3,171
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 675/6
    Given: 1,302/9
    Rep Power
    18
    The Gretsch Compact Reverb (maybe Compact Recording?) is nice, too..

    Justin

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    "Wow it's red! That doesn't look like the standard Marshall red. It's more like hooker lipstick/clown nose/poodle pecker red." - Chuck H. -
    "Of course that means playing **LOUD** , best but useless solution to modern sissy snowflake players." - J.M. Fahey -
    "All I ever managed to do with that amp was... kill small rodents within a 50 yard radius of my practice building." - Tone Meister -

  12. #12
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    5
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    I have used rob robinette's circuit in a champ and ive done the triode mod. Both work, not so great in a champ but they do work. Takes tweaking to keep it from sounding like a treble boost. Inserting a 3.3m /10pf after the preamp capacitor,470k off the pot and feeding back into the 6v6. The electronic reverb cant handle that. After a lot of reshearch the only option is to install it at the input jacks, the 3H model allows for attenuation using a dual pot. So i guess the best option is a pedal design inside the amp. The PR circuit with champ ps and ot is something to think about, may try that one day. Thanks for the thoughts and suggestions guys. I appreciate it.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  13. #13
    Old Timer olddawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    La Jolla CA, Hanalei, Kauai
    Posts
    2,977
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 287/0
    Given: 30/1
    Rep Power
    14
    There is another option not mentioned. Gibson's first reverb units clipped on to an amp's speaker with aligator clips. It was called a "Reverb Amp" and had its own speaker. Sort of an extension amp with Reverb. Distorted Reverb sounds like ass in most peoples opinions. Reverb on distortion is better. But again. Why bother.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  14. #14
    Old Timer Leo_Gnardo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Dogpatch-on-Hudson
    Posts
    6,393
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,413/21
    Given: 1,196/0
    Rep Power
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by olddawg View Post
    There is another option not mentioned. Gibson's first reverb units clipped on to an amp's speaker with aligator clips. It was called a "Reverb Amp" and had its own speaker. Sort of an extension amp with Reverb. Distorted Reverb sounds like ass in most peoples opinions. Reverb on distortion is better. But again. Why bother.
    Right on! Ampeg had their version, I owned one for a while then one of our local blues dudes had to have it for his rig: sold. Worked great! Plus, you could put the reverb anywhere the speaker gator clip wire would reach, up to 50 feet away, no problem.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  15. #15
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    32,024
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,818/7
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    55
    Hammond did that in their organs for ages.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 94
    Last Post: 04-06-2016, 09:25 AM
  2. 5F1 Champ w/ 6BM8 One-Tube Reverb Pics
    By dchang0 in forum Build Your Amp
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-01-2010, 03:09 AM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-15-2010, 04:36 AM
  4. Champ 5F1 with vibrato
    By dinkotom in forum Tweed Builders
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 06-27-2009, 12:10 PM
  5. Champ 5F1 Build
    By Rayme in forum Conversion Projects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-25-2009, 10:34 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •