Need replacement cord for old Danelectro Nifty Fifty amp

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need replacement cord for old Danelectro Nifty Fifty amp

Hi. Just got an old beat up 50 and need a power cord. Does anyone know the type and where to purchase? And yes, I'm a first-time newbie/gremmy to this forum so many thanks for just reading this question.
    Pdshane

Online pictures show itīs a modern SS amp with a modern IEC connector on the back, so any standard IEC mains cable will do.

Just try to get a somewhat long one, typical "computer/printer/monitor" ones will work, but are inconveniently short, around 1 meter (3 to 4 feet) , you need at least twice that for comfort.
    Juan Manuel Fahey

Comment

...and those cords are so common that many people have extras. Many new pieces of equipment come with one of those cords and, when the equipment reaches end of life, the cord is still good. In my area I often see them in recycling bins. Many times they are unused in their original packaging. Additionally all the thrift stores have good supplies for a fraction of the new cost.

Edit: Note that you could borrow a power cord from another piece of equipment and use it to try out your amp.

It is helpful if you include your location in your profile. You don't need to list your exact address but, if members know your general location, they can often supply more helpful answers to your questions.

Cheers,
      Tom
      Last edited by Tom Phillips; 03-12-2017, 04:27 PM.

Comment

We have hundreds at work!

People throw them out all the time with dead computers or printers.

You can even find them at thrift stores for alot cheaper than a regular store.
        Thrift stores actually have all kinds of cables for computers, games or electronics.

I know because my 12 yr old mad scientist gets all kinds of stuff there and built a huge stereo system for very little money.

Comment