Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

carbon comp vs metal film in a new amp build?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• carbon comp vs metal film in a new amp build?

The metal film 1/2 watt are cheaper, and 1% tol, compared to carbon comp. Would using either one affect the tone or longevity of an amp? This is a new amp build.
    Thanks.
    The only good solid state amp is a dead solid state amp. Unless it sounds really good, then its OK.

Specs makes it the perfect component doesn't it ? Now only if the made them look more like a Tootsie roll & squared edges & charge more for them ,they would be the prefect passive component for the job . Remember Customers hear with there eyesX$$$$= how much they will spend for tone/Snake oil .So in some perspective it is a pissing contest for consumers .
    "UP here in the Canada we shoot things we don't understand"

Comment

Thanks copperheadroads. Im very new to electronics, reading all the time. Everything I can read says that the old carbon comps are a worse component. They absorb moisture, they get 'hissy', they even fall apart sometimes. They start wandering out of tolerance, sometimes before they're even off the shelf. I pinged a few other amp repairer/builders (few!), most are nice enough to reply a bit They say that they replace what 'looks like the same' component for real museum pieces, when they can get those components, mostly for the reasons you state.

But I have not been able to find anyone who has really built a few amps, some with CC's some with metal film's, and said that they could hear a difference.

With caps, ok, its a pretty complicated thing. So I could see how one cap construction type might be better for audio.

Anyway, it sounds like you've had no problems with metal film's either in amp repair work or new amps, for sound quality, longevity?
      The only good solid state amp is a dead solid state amp. Unless it sounds really good, then its OK.

Comment