Looking for the dookie mod

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for the dookie mod

Hi everyone. I just joined and this is my first post. Long time viewer here so I decided to finally sign up.
    I was wondering if anyone knew how to mod an amp to sound like Green Day's Dookie mod? The amp I want to mod is a Peavey Special 130. I'm pretty new to electronic "tweaking" so any help would be appreciated. Also, if anyone has any really nice sounding mods I could do to this amp, I would be super grateful.
    Thanks for reading and hopefully replying.
    -BRODIE

Hi, welcome to the forum.

I have no idea what a Dookie Mod might be. Is this something written about? Do you have a link to it published somewhere? But more important, have you heard an amp with this change in person, or only on recordings?

For that matter is this something that was originally done to a Special 130? No point in trying to stuff a mod for a Bandit into a Special 130.

Nice mods is in the ear of the beholder, a good question is what do you want to change abut your amp, then we go about trying to accomplish that.
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment

A gain mod made to a Marshall tube amp will not work in a solid-state amp. I would honestly leave the amp as it is and investigate pedals to get the sound you're after. The circuit topology, gain structure, components, layout, speaker interaction are all completely different in a solid-state amp compared to a tube amp. Even if you had Bob Bradshaw's exact schematic this wouldn't translate into your particular amp.

Comment