X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Marshall Lead 100 Mosfet 3210 producing loud intermittent/random noises

Help needed with...
    Marshall Lead 100 Mosfet 3210 ss amp, pcb: jm88
    The quality control sticker inside is dated 06/06/86 & appears to be unmolested.

This is the schematic I'm using since the only other one I could find is too difficult to read...
    http://drtube.com/schematics/marshall/3210-iss7.gif

This amp powers on, but I'm getting loud intermittent cracking & popping noises thru the speakers [2x12" 8Ω Celestion V30's wired into 16Ω].
    When patched thru another amp [same speakers] it produces a nice clean sound so that should rule out the preamp correct?

I'm a novice to guitar amplifier repair but I have a grasp on electrical components & the tools/ability to solder,
    so please don't become impatient if I don't completely understand everything right off.

At first glance after opening it up, I saw melted insulation on the wires connected to the K135 mosfet.
    Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9614 20%.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	185.5 KB
ID:	871437 Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9615 20%.jpg
Size:	217.7 KB
ID:	871438

Although it was still producing sound the pin on K135 with the yellow wire was actually able to move [up & down] in the mosfet.
    Obviously this part got really hot & needs replacing so I'll replace both mosfets to keep them closer together in spec.

I removed the board & inspected the solder joints which all looked ok.
    However, there were a few dark spots on the circuit board.

Name:	IMG_0121 50%.jpg
Size:	518.5 KB
ID:	871439

Name:	IMG_0119 50%.jpg
Size:	512.7 KB
ID:	871440

Name:	IMG_0102 20%.jpg
Size:	235.6 KB
ID:	871441

I'm not very experienced at following voltage across a schematic but I'd like to make sure the components near these dark spots aren't damaged from overheating.