Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: 5F11 Build - Tremolo Depth Issue

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0

    5F11 Build - Tremolo Depth Issue

    Looking for some help here. I recently built a 5F11 amp (my third one) which generally works and sounds great. The one issue I am having is in regard to the tremolo depth...

    The tremolo depth works great until it is completely maxed at which point the tremolo goes away (as if the depth is at zero). Up until that final moment on the dial, it works as expected.

    I have swapped out the pot with one known to work (from another 5F11). No change, so I don't believe that it's the pot itself.

    Amp is biased to 60% plate dissipation, bias voltage is -22v.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Don't forget the joker g1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Canada, somewhere north of Fargo
    Posts
    11,718
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,600/23
    Given: 4,081/11
    Rep Power
    22
    Have you tried swapping the trem tube?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Just because they don't have tubes doesn't mean they don't have feelings! - glebert

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by g1 View Post
    Have you tried swapping the trem tube?
    Thanks for the suggestion. I have tried changing the trem tube, but to no avail.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Don't forget the joker g1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Canada, somewhere north of Fargo
    Posts
    11,718
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,600/23
    Given: 4,081/11
    Rep Power
    22
    Did you use new caps in the trem circuit? The type of 'stalling' of the oscillator you described is often due to problems with the caps in the trem circuit.
    Schematic attached.
    Attached Files Attached Files

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Just because they don't have tubes doesn't mean they don't have feelings! - glebert

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by g1 View Post
    Did you use new caps in the trem circuit? The type of 'stalling' of the oscillator you described is often due to problems with the caps in the trem circuit.
    Schematic attached.
    I did use new caps. I will swap them out and see what happens. Thanks.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 5F11 voltage/amps issue...not able to bias
    By ron vogel in forum Debugging Your Build
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-28-2013, 04:15 PM
  2. Tremolo problem in modifed 5F11
    By HammerTone in forum Debugging Your Build
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-22-2013, 08:52 PM
  3. Ibanez CS 505 (issue with Depth control)
    By baikonour in forum Guitar Effects
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-29-2012, 05:40 PM
  4. Adding intensity / depth to a GA-5T tremolo circuit
    By hearforever in forum Mods & Tweaks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-16-2011, 08:42 AM
  5. Tweed Vibrolux 5F11 - low intensity on Tremolo
    By haricros in forum Tweed Builders
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-21-2009, 03:52 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •