Sunn SL260 output section short

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sunn SL260 output section short

Fellas, I have some time on my hands so I'm digging into a few solid state projects. I'm a complete novice so I will need my hand held at times, especially in certain circuit sections (voltage regulation, voltage dividers, etc). That said, here is one I dredged up thinking I could use the power transformer on the Fender FM65R I'm working on in another thread.
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sunn SL260 chassis lights the bulb on my LBL and amp's pilot light won't light because of the current draw. Pulled both output transistors and light does not light and amp's pilot lights normally. Power transformer secondaries measure about ~30 VAC with outputs pulled. Replaced outputs with 15015 NPN and 15016 PNP but bulb still lights up although not quite as bright.

Seems like my +/-15v rails are screwed up but I can't tell where the voltage regulation happens.
    Attached Files

Originally posted by Tone Meister View Post
    Pulled both output transistors and light does not light and amp's pilot lights normally. Power transformer secondaries measure about ~30 VAC with outputs pulled. Replaced outputs with 15015 NPN and 15016 PNP but bulb still lights up although not quite as bright.
    What else did you test in the power amp section? Is there any dc voltage on the speaker output?

Comment

Drats, can't believe I didn't think to check that. Will report findings tomorrow morning

Comment

Test amp with NO speaker or any load connected.
        Aim at no DC on the output, and rails at least 20 or 30V each.
        IF so, you can proceed with other tests.
        Juan Manuel Fahey

Comment

Originally posted by J M Fahey View Post
          Test amp with NO speaker or any load connected.