Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Sovtek 5Y3GT?

  1. #1
    Supporting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Near Nashville
    Posts
    778
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 157/1
    Given: 142/1
    Rep Power
    11

    Sovtek 5Y3GT?

    I'm building a 5e3 style amp, and bought some Sovtek 5Y3GT rectifiers. ubuyguitars.com has them 2 for $9.99. Now I'm reading online that they are not the same as old 5y3's. Should I not use one in a new amp? Can I mod the circuit to compensate for the difference?

    Thanks

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Master Destroyer nosaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pace, FL
    Posts
    3,304
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,159/102
    Given: 160/36
    Rep Power
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by dmartn149 View Post
    I'm building a 5e3 style amp, and bought some Sovtek 5Y3GT rectifiers. ubuyguitars.com has them 2 for $9.99. Now I'm reading online that they are not the same as old 5y3's. Should I not use one in a new amp? Can I mod the circuit to compensate for the difference?

    Thanks
    When you build it put only the 5y3 in and check voltages to see where it's at.

    nosaj

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Old Timer
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Chill-Ville, VA
    Posts
    3,254
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 730/6
    Given: 1,440/10
    Rep Power
    18
    Rumour has it they were simply "not-quite-GZ34s." Probably not a problem if you're using JJ 6V6s. But if it's for a new build, yeah, check what it puts out, then mod to your heart's content - at that price, dayum.

    Justin

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    "Wow it's red! That doesn't look like the standard Marshall red. It's more like hooker lipstick/clown nose/poodle pecker red." - Chuck H. -
    "Of course that means playing **LOUD** , best but useless solution to modern sissy snowflake players." - J.M. Fahey -
    "All I ever managed to do with that amp was... kill small rodents within a 50 yard radius of my practice building." - Tone Meister -

  4. #4
    Supporting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Near Nashville
    Posts
    778
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 157/1
    Given: 142/1
    Rep Power
    11
    Thanks guys. They still have 282 of them in stock, still 2 for $9.99 too. I guess I'll build then check voltages, then come back here for more advice.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Old Timer olddawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    La Jolla CA, Hanalei, Kauai
    Posts
    3,020
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 317/0
    Given: 34/1
    Rep Power
    16
    This is the same guy that I got those cheap VHT 18 watt amps from with the Australia PTs for cheap. Both the 18 watt and the 36 watt chassis use that tube and sound/work fine. He's 10 minutes from my house.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    32,431
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,998/7
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    55
    And never forget this: these are only guitar amps, not precision lab gear. CLose is good enough.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  7. #7
    Don't forget the joker g1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Canada, somewhere north of Fargo
    Posts
    12,009
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,782/24
    Given: 4,584/11
    Rep Power
    23
    Just because no one directly mentioned it, the voltage is usually higher with the Sovtek than with 'proper' 5Y3s.
    If any of your caps or tubes are running close to the rated max. voltage limits, you would not want to use this as a replacement.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Just because they don't have tubes doesn't mean they don't have feelings! - glebert

  8. #8
    Supporting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Near Nashville
    Posts
    778
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 157/1
    Given: 142/1
    Rep Power
    11
    Thanks everyone. I know "close is good enough" I also know that higher voltages from my local power company is the norm nowadays.
    I got these 5y3 tubes, a chassis (aluminum $13) and a PT (Chinese $5) He had hand wired 5e3 circuit boards (probably Chinese) I think they were $20. I procrastinated and missed out on that one.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 5y3gt on 6.3 ac?
    By cbass in forum Guitar Amps
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 01-06-2014, 12:59 PM
  2. New JJ 5Y3GT out in the wild...
    By echuta13 in forum Tweed Builders
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-12-2012, 12:32 AM
  3. Sovtek 5Y3GT--good tube?
    By Rhodesplyr in forum Tubes (Valves)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-29-2010, 01:54 PM
  4. Sovtek 5Y3GT and Sovtek 5V4G?
    By catnine in forum Theory & Design
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-06-2009, 02:43 AM
  5. 5Y3GT data sheet?
    By bluefoxicy in forum Theory & Design
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 05-24-2008, 01:54 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •