Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Kalamazoo Bass amp help lease?

New Member here.
    My name is Mike, and I've been a guitarist for 47 years. I recently acquired a Kalamazoo Bass amp. Now, they made a "Kalamazoo Bass 30" a "Kalamazoo Bass 50" and a "Kalamazoo Bass". Mine is the plain "Bass". This was a transitional year, a handful of this model were still tube, and most were the new transistor model. Mine is a tube amp. The tube version is basically identical to the "Kalamazoo Bass 30". I know mine is a 30w. Utilizing 2 7591's, and 2 6EU7's.
    A good friend of mine was a bass player, and a serious amp collector. He was going to make this a project amp, with a custom wooden head cab, and custom speaker cab. The original cab was literally disintegrated. But the speakers ( '65 Jensen C10P's) were pristine. I know the amp worked, I was there when he fired it up long ago, but he passed away, and his wife gave me some of his speakers and amps. I want to try to resume this project, but I ran into a big snag, and need some help.
    The first problem is this. He had cut the wires coming from the plug, that plugs the pots, input, and fuse holder, and light to the chassis. Well, its easy enough for me to re solder the colored wires back to their points, but, there are three grey wires, that come from the plug, to the pots, and I have no idea which grey wire end, goes to which grey wire end attached to the pots. I can decipher some things on a schematic, but I have no electronics knowledge other then things I've picked up along the way over the years. I've taken pics of what I have to deal with, and will try to post. I can find pics of the pots, I can find pics of the chassis, but no pics of the wires from the plug to the pots. If I could, I could figure out where the wires from plug socket 1, 2, 3, go to on the pots. I'm hoping someone can tell me which wire goes to which end.