errors in The Ultimate Tone by K. O'Connor

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• errors in The Ultimate Tone by K. O'Connor

I am studying Vol 3, and I find some errors. For example, in the Portaflex chapter he gets the 2K2 and 5K6 preamp cathode resistors reversed multiple times in one section, and then opposite later on. Also, I have seen a couple of times where he denotes caps in N where they are uF, as in the output tubes electrolytic cathode bypass cap. He has it as 50N, it is actually 50uF/50v.

Makes me wonder what else is wrong? I see these as reference text books to learn from, aren't these proofread? They cost enough.
    It's weird, because it WAS working fine.....

I don't have any of his books, so I can't answer your question directly. What I can say though, is that I've had several interactions with him on the forum where I thought his assertions were dead wrong from an engineering perspective. I don't think that's all that significant really, as it's not at all uncommon for people to have disagreements on things, and everyone makes mistakes. There've been plenty of times when I've had my idiot-hat on, so I can't blame anyone else when it happens to them.

I seem to recall a point in time where the Power Scaling implementation put high voltage DC on the front panel pots, which I thought was an irresponsible and dangerous design. My memory is a bit foggy on that discussion, but I think that design has subsequently been revised to make it more safe to the user.

Regarding his amp designs, I also disagreed with some of the transformer choices that he made in some of his amp recommendations, but I don't think that's at all significant. Around here we spend a lot of time debating one transformer vs. another for almost every application.