Multimeters -- Recommendations

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Multimeters -- Recommendations

Need a line on an affordable reliable multimeter that doesn't croak and have to be replaced every 6 to 9 months. Any ideas?

What's your price range? What meters do you NOT want to buy again?
    When the going gets weird... The weird turn pro!

Comment

Originally posted by DrGonz78 View Post
      What's your price range? What meters do you NOT want to buy again?
      Simpson 260, Fluke 110, and an Amprobe digital meter are what I have settled on. Paid about 30 for each.

nosaj
      soldering stuff that's broken, breaking stuff that works, Yeah!

Comment

Why do they croke? I've been using the same $40 RadioShack meter for the past 12 years! I've even dropped it a few times.
        It would be possible to describe everything scientifically, but it would make no sense; it would be without meaning, as if you described a Beethoven symphony as a variation of wave pressure. — Albert Einstein

http://coneyislandguitars.com
        www.soundcloud.com/davidravenmoon

Comment

On a digital, the test leads is usually what goes south.
          Most meters will last a while.
          I like the many cheap meters available, for what I do.
          No need to use my Fluke 89 to check many functions.
          One feature I like on a meter, is a separate on and off switch.
          I don't care for the ones where you use the main select switch to also turn it on and off.
          A separate on/off, allows leaving the main select switch to be preset, or left alone, but not many meters have this feature.
          I typed in digital multimeter on amazon, and here's the result.
          https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_n...tal+multimeter
          T
          Last edited by big_teee; 09-14-2017, 05:08 PM.
          "If Hitler invaded Hell, I would make at least a favourable reference of the Devil in the House of Commons." Winston Churchill
          Terry