Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Sovtek EL84m tests poor in Orange valve tester??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sovtek EL84m tests poor in Orange valve tester??

I received a new quad of EL84m from TubeDepot today.. I've been using my new Orange tube tester for a few months now. These tube test quite low, in the worn range. They all test 4 on an LED scale of 16. The tubes did not fail (a LED which will indicate a bad tube). This is for a retube of a Vox AC-30. Anyone else notice this? The tester only checks tubes used in audio amplifiers, so it's very limited. It can be used to check matching of tubes. I do like the unit & has been helpful in amp repair. This is the first time anything odd has happened.

So they are OK, but low gain. (or whatever)

SO how did they work/sound in the amp?
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment

Haven't installed yet.... but will let you know....

Comment

"They all test 4 on an LED scale of 16:.

I do believe that if a tube works, it is shipped from the factory.

So they are 'low gain' tubes.
        The overall output will be lower than a '16'.
        But who will notice a few watts output.

Groove Tubes would have placed a '4' rating on the sticker.
        At least they were honest.

Hey, at least they are 'matched'.

Comment

Hopefully they compensate by being low-microphony and long-lasting. Some vendors have gain groupings for EL84s but I haven't actually noticed that much difference between them when fitted. If you didn't have your tester you'd maybe have fitted them and never given them a second though.

Comment

I have read many reviews on those testers. One of the complaints was that sometimes it tests a good tube, bad.

Comment

Well, no tester can be 100% all the time.
              Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment