Silent Marshall AS50D Acoustic Amp

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Silent Marshall AS50D Acoustic Amp

I have a Marshall AS50D solid state 50-watt combo which has stopped outputting. The amp is less than two years old, has been well looked after and has had moderate home use only. It has not been subject to any impacts or been dropped. The on/off switch illuminates, however there is total silence when connecting a guitar or mic to either of the two channels. There is no noise or hiss when turning all controls to maximum. I've pulled the chassis and carried out a visual inspection. Everything appears to be as it should be. There are no loose connections. The fuse is intact. The speaker wires are connected properly. I have limited knowledge of electronics, but am hoping that there maybe a relatively simple diagnostic test which would enable me to determine the extent of the problem and whether or not I could solve it myself. I have a multi-meter, but wouldn't know what or where to test. If any members could offer suggestions-either through direct experience or general knowledge-I'd be grateful to hear them.

Have you tried cleaning the send/return jacks? Not sure on this amp if that would cut out signal path completely if they have dirty contacts in those jacks. Try plugging in the guitar to the return jack and see if you get any sound. Also, try plugging the send jack into another amp to check if that first preamp stage is passing signal. This schematic might be close to what you have...?
    Attached Files
    When the going gets weird... The weird turn pro!

Comment

Originally posted by DrGonz78 View Post