Marshall 9004 Rackmount Preamp Negative Voltage Supply

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Marshall 9004 Rackmount Preamp Negative Voltage Supply

Hi, I have a Marshall 9004 rackmount preamp here (schematic attached) which is not producing sound output, apparently on account of the negative voltage rail not getting the required -12V. I replaced D2 and REG2 but that did not help. I measured ~20V on both sides of D1 but on D2 I measure ~20V on the incoming side and + 0.6V on the REG2 side, and I did make sure the diode is oriented correctly. The output of REG2 is about +0.7V where it should be -12V. I'm relatively new to solid state electronics, any suggestions on further troubleshooting? Could C48 be the culprit? I haven't investigated that yet because I haven't had the PCB out of the unit yet, only worked from the component side so far. Thanks.

- B.L.

Marshall-Rackmount-Preamp-9004-Schematic.pdf

Yes, C48 could be the problem. Do you measure a low resistance across it?
    Originally posted by Enzo
    I have a sign in my shop that says, "Never think up reasons not to check something."

Comment

Or any other hard short after the regulator. Is anything hot to the touch? An old trick is if you have a camcorder or camera with an IR (low light) mode. Hot components will glow through the viewfinder.

Comment

Originally posted by g1 View Post
        Yes, C48 could be the problem. Do you measure a low resistance across it?
        I was able to measure resistance across C48 in circuit by attaching my DMM leads to the connected end of D2 and the positive terminal of C45. The reading I get is ~16Mohm. What sort of resistance would we be expecting?

Comment

A shorted part will have a low resistance, but it could also just be super leaky, and so acts as a short at anything over (I'll make it up) say 4 volts. Your meter cannot see that. I doubt the cap is bad.