Sovtek Mig-60 No Output

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sovtek Mig-60 No Output

Hey fellas, i recently picked up this Sovtek Mig-60 with a matching 2x12 cabinet for free from a friend's rental house that the previous tenants left behind. I got the stuff home, and immediately yanked the chassis out to check things out and noticed a burnt up screen grid resistor. I'm pretty new with tube amps, but am VERY comfortable with electronics and schematics.

After grabbing the scematics for the Mig-60, i went over everything and replaced resistors that were out of spec (only 2). I bought new tubes for it, as one of the stock EL34s (the one that had the burnt screen grid resistor) had a strange purplish-glow at the bottom, i figured they were 13 years old anyway.

Long story short, i threw the tubes in today, and i get nothing, nada, zip, zero, zilch out of the caibinet. no hum, buzz, nothing. Is there any preemptive tests i can do to check out if it's the OT or PT before i shell out a hundred bucks or so? Or, is there anything else i should check out before i just make a quick dollar selling it as is?

thanks for any help,
    jay

Connect a different speaker to it with a different speaker cord for starts, and verify the existing speaker works too.

If the speaks are OK< then this amp is no different from any other. Got B+ everywhere? Since the screen resistor was burnt, then at least that tube was shorted. You have new tubes, but make sure B+ gets to both screen pins on the sockets. Check B+ throughout the amp.
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment

the cabinet is used everyday with no problems, it's connected to practice amp (Vox AD30VT). i get a solid 350V on each screen. and B+ everywhere. not sure what's up with this one.

Comment