Danelectro Cadet 123 needs OT

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Danelectro Cadet 123 needs OT

I just picked up this Dano and opened it up this morning. The previous owner said it had very low output. From what I am seeing at some point the speaker and filter caps were replaced, but I do not see an output transformer. I think the original speaker had the OT attached to it. So whoever replaced the speaker might not have realized they needed to save the OT.

I fear turning this on to hear for myself as I do not want to damage anything. I would imagine the missing OT is the reason there is low output.

I have no experience with missing OTs or how to choose a replacement OT. I may have some sitting around my basement, need to search. What do I need to look for? Winding ratios, resistance, made for a 50C5 output tube, etc?

Schematic attached for Silvertone 1430. The Dano does not have the T1 transformer shown in the schematic. That aside I think everything is identical.

Thank you. MC
    Attached Files

The output transformer was mounted to the speaker.
    Click image for larger version

Name:	Cadet Spkr.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	293.1 KB
ID:	847745

FYI: this amp configuration needs an isolation transformer to be operated safely.
    The chassis is at mains potential.
    Last edited by Jazz P Bass; 11-18-2017, 04:24 PM.

Comment

Looks like T1’s purpose is to supply 12vAC for the 12AU7’s heaters. So, the amp cannot work without it. I don’t know what’s going on with your amp, but I will say, this amp is deadly and can kill you! If you plug it into your wall voltage with the incorrect orientation of the power plug (50/50 chance...) you’ll have 120vAC on your guitar strings.

EDIT: Jazz beat me to it.
      --
      I build and repair guitar amps
      http://amps.monkeymatic.com

Comment

Here is a replacement OT: "All American Five" Audio Output Transformer (Item: RDX-300B) - Radio Daze LLC