Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Need Help with Old MIJ Tube Amp (Univox?)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Help with Old MIJ Tube Amp (Univox?)

I have an unlabeled, late 60/70's mij tube amp that I got when I started playing guitar 25 years ago (I think it's a univox design). I never really used it though because it's always sounded pretty bad. I want to restore it to like new condition because I've heard good things about the old univox tube amps, and I'd like to know more about it and source the schematics if possible. I'm a mechanic and I'm comfortable with soldering and using a multimeter and know basic electrical theory like ohms volts amps and circuits, but I've never really gotten into electronics. I could really use some advice in terms of what the best procedures are in terms of replacing the caps or other components and if there are any other things I ought to do now that I've got everything apart. For instance, I don't really have a handle on the difference between foil and electrolytic caps or specifically what kinds are used for amps. So, to start with, what kind of caps should I use to replace the old ones with and what are the guidelines if I can't find new ones that match the values of the originals? Should I just replace all the caps and resistors entirely? I don't really care about perfectly replicating the original sound or anything like that. I just want to turn this thing into a safe, usable, reliable amp without spending too much money.

I've got some pictures and these are the features and what I know about it so far:

-It has no labels at all except for "muscal amplifier" model H printed on the pcb board. Muscal is a typo that seems to show up on a lot of these old mij univoxes, lafayettes and some other brands. It looks almost exactly like a Realistic model 212, and sort of like the univox u-320 head unit. I also saw a Lafayette amp that had the same pcb board layout on google.