Replacement Handle for Silvertone 1334

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Replacement Handle for Silvertone 1334

I'm new to guitar amp restoration and have been looking for a replacement handle for a Silvertone 1334 tube amp. Unfortunately,
    the standard size seems to be 6.5 inches, but I'm showing 7.5 inches from pin to pin. Where do you guys go for replacement handles?

Here's a picture of what the handle is supposed to look like:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	1956-Silvertone-1333-010.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	1.45 MB
ID:	873198

Here's how I'm measuring:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	20180104_102034.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	1.62 MB
ID:	873199

If nothing else, you could go to a local shoe repair or other leather working shop and have them make you one.
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment

I've been considering that, but I live in a tiny town. Not sure how far I'd have to go to find someone who could make one. May have to start asking around

Comment

I'd recommend "go local" if at all possible. Unless you're 100 miles from nowhere there's bound to be a shoe repair / leather specialty / luggage repair somewhere in or near the bigger towns & cities, where you might have to spend $10-20 for a replacement. Failing that, one of our MEF correspondents mentioned Ohio Travel Bag a year or two back. I'd be surprised if you couldn't get what you need from them. Here's a link for their online catalog handle department:

https://ohiotravelbag.com/catalog/ha...aspx#f=&p=1&s=

This looks like a good candidate:

https://ohiotravelbag.com/products/i...2115/182X9-BRO