Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does this amp schematic look usable

Hi all,

Although I've built a few small solid state amps using slightly modified designs, I'm completely new to the world of valve/tube amps and have come up with this schematic based on a modified Harley Benton GA5. The reason I am using the UCC85 and UL84 is purely because I already have those tubes. I am only building this for a bit of fun, so it doesn't have to be amazing.

The reason I am using 2 transformers back to back for the power supply is because I can't find a reasonably priced 1:1 isolation transformer and will be using 12v elsewhere in the amp.

The tube heaters will be powered by the 12v DC rail which will then be going into an adjustable DC-DC boost module. I've done it this way as it's cheaper and I can also adjust the output voltage should I add any further circuitry requiring more valves to be heated later. The 12v AC will be going off to run a low powered light bulb for aesthetics only.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Valve amp modulalised_schem - Final.png
Views:	1
Size:	351.3 KB
ID:	873207

Thank you in advance for any suggestions and help

Jim

p.s. forgot to add, I plan on connecting the 200-240v DC GND to earth.

Sorry, your schematic is hard to read as is, please redraw it using standard tube symbols and "all in one", not criscrossing all over the screen from PCB to PCB.

And your supply arrangement is way too complex and heavy; try toget a proper transformer or even salvage one from an old tube radio or record player.

Do you have the proper sockets for "U Technology" tubes?
    If I remember well, those are miniature 8 pin tubes (not octals) with a raised glass dot on the envelope to serve as an alignment key, not too easy to find today.

If you pulled tubes and sockets from an old radio, also reuse its power transformer (and presumably theoutput one too)
    I presume you are somewhere in Europe.
    Juan Manuel Fahey

Comment