Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 5E3 whistling noise until warmed up

Hi guys,

I have a 5E3 clone that I built from a Mission kit a few years back. It's a good sounding amp, which has served me very well. I've used it mic'ed up at gigs for several years and it has been completely reliable. Somewhere along the line I added power scaling for small gigs, which has also been in there for a long time with no problems, except for a little residual hum which I couldn't filter out.

The amp has started making strange noises -- difficult to describe, someone said it sounds like the noise you get when you stretch the neck of an inflated balloon and let the air out. If that rings any bells, it's actually a good description of the noise. Like a scratchy whistling sound that goes up and down in pitch.

After a few minutes, when the amp is thoroughly warmed up, the noise goes away.

I am not an expert in amp building. I have built a few, but mostly from kits, where the design/layout/troubleshooting expertise came from someone else. I don't have a scope or any advanced testing tools, just a multi-meter.

I have chop-sticked throughout the amp without coming up with anything. In terms of layout, I have moved wires about with the chopsticks, in terms of components I have examined everything and tapped everything. I have replaced the preamp tubes with new TAD 12AX7s. (The amp has had a 12AX7 in V1 from the word go). I changed the power tubes a short while ago and the noise was there both before and after.

So I wondered if anybody might have a clue where I would start to look for the cause of this -- perhaps there is an application of logic which can narrow the field?

Any help appreciated.

Is the noise from the speaker or from the amp internals? From the description of the noise, it sounds like a cap with a popped top.
    "I took a photo of my ohm meter... It didn't help." Enzo 8/20/22

Comment

Originally posted by rdh006 View Post
      Hi guys,