5F6A Bassman total custom build - super low output

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 5F6A Bassman total custom build - super low output

First build. First off, let me save you some typing. I know you all have safety in mind so: DISCLAIMER - I know about lethal voltages, one hand for testing, etc. If you still have to tell me, no problem. In case anyone cares, I've been an electrical engineer for 25 years, currently licensed in 14 US states and 2 Canadian provinces. That said, I still have a lot to learn about tube amps.

I built a Bassman like you have never seen. 6 months of research and fabrication. I have been on Robinette's site almost daily. You might ask, "Why would anyone build something so elaborate?". No other reason than because I can, and I want the BEST tone.

Amp Specs:
    • Custom chassis in 5" aluminum tubing.
    • Teflon tube sockets
    • Components direct-wired to the sockets wherever possible.
    • Star grounding at V1, V2 and V4/V5
    • Isolated input and output jacks (not grounded at jack).
    • Grounds connected in twisted pairs with corresponding signal.
    • All wires to pots and switches twisted pair with corresponding ground.
    • Tubes are preferred series from thetubestore.com.
    • Cermet potentiometers throughout.
    • Wired for 12VAC heaters on V1, V2, V3.
    • Edcor USA made transformers. (These are gorgeous!)
    • Fused input xfmr secondary
    • 8ohm, 50W power soak resistor for crunch at reasonable volume!
    • All resistors 1%, and 1W or more except where unavailable.
    • Wired with 20AWG solid wire from McMaster Carr in wacky color scheme.

Speaker cabinet:
    • Custom cherry/maple/walnut tubular cabinet.
    • (2) Acoustic Elegance Dipole 10 speakers. (aespeakers.com)
    • Wired with military grade 16AWG teflon twisted pair cable.
    • 1/4 male plug

Mods on this amp from Rob Robinette and others:
    1. Boost mod - bypass V2A cathode resistor with 0.68uF cap.