Ideal DIY Pickup Winder Features?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ideal DIY Pickup Winder Features?

I am new to pickup winding but am looking for a fun project to take on with an extra PLC (programmable logic controller) and HMI that I have laying around.

I'm hoping to get some insight into what features the ideal pickup winder would have. Is there anything that would be useful outside of things like:
    • Rotation direction (CW Vs. CCW)
    • Total rotation count
    • Speed up/Slow Down at startup/stop
    • Lateral movement for programmable scatter and coil distribution

That's basically what I have seen on commercial and DIY units online and seems easy enough to accomplish with a programmable unit. Anyone have any other advice that I may not find from basic research? I'm going to order some pickup parts from Mojotone to figure out the best way to mount to the motor shaft, but it seems like a PLC, an HMI for control/dispaly and a motor should get me most of the way there.

Thanks!

All the above
    Jack Briggs

sigpic
    www.briggsguitars.com

forum.briggsguitars.com

Comment

You may want to include:
      - Traverse start position option to be either left side or right side (top or bottom) of the bobbin.
      - Bobbin height/traverse distance (distance between the inside top and inside bottom of the bobbin).
      - Lateral movement distance parameter to accurately align the wind start position setup (in predefined increments [e.g. .0028/.028/.125/.125/Bobbin height itself]).
      Take Care,

Jim. . .
      VA3DEF

Comment

Originally posted by kayakerca View Post
        You may want to include:
        - Traverse start position option to be either left side or right side (top or bottom) of the bobbin.
        - Bobbin height/traverse distance (distance between the inside top and inside bottom of the bobbin).