Carvin Legacy 212 problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Carvin Legacy 212 problem

Hey folks. I'm working on an amp for a friend and I'm hoping to get some guidance. I am not a professional amp tech, but I do know the basics. The amp is all tube with 5 12ax7s and 4 EL34s or 6l6 power tubes. The amp developed a loud static noise so the owner replaced all of the valves with no change. The noise is present with or without a guitar connected to the input. I am pretty sure the problem is in the pre-amp section because plugging into the effects loop from another amp eliminated the noise and the amp works as it should. Plugging anything into the send or return removes the noise. Removing V3 or V5 eliminates the noise, with diminished output of course. I opened the amp up and it's spotless inside. Clean as could be. I used contact cleaner on all tube sockets, and send and return jacks. I re-soldered all pre-amp tube sockets with no change. I have been in contact with Carvin and the tech suggested replacing all of the pre-amp tube sockets. Any ideas? Thanks in advance! P.S. I am pretty sure the attached schematic is for the head version of the amp which is the same as the combo.
    Attached Files

Even with the loud static noise, does the amp pass guitar signal as it should?

If a tube socket is misbehaving, you should be able to influence the staticky noise by wiggling the tubes while the amp is on. If you can not make any difference in the sound by wiggling tubes, it's not a socket.

Use a wooden chop stick to probe every point, every connection, every component while amp is running so see if you can find a localized issue.
    --
    I build and repair guitar amps
    http://amps.monkeymatic.com

Comment

I wouldn't replace all of the tube sockets. Maybe a single one if I proved it to be required, but to do all of them is invasive and may not be the problem anyhow.